Skip to content

Root Vegetable Galette, Choucroute, and Caramel Apple Ice Cream

February 22, 2010

Carrot, black radiah, and leek galette

So I did make the root vegetable galette, and learned/was reminded of a couple of things.  One is that it takes more egg to bind it than I think it does.  I grated two huge carrots, two black radishes (peeled – the skin looked to be tough) and sliced four tiny leeks.  I tossed these together in a large bowl, seasoned with salt and white pepper (because I was going for an Asian feel) and added two eggs.  I got in there with my hands to mix it all together, and when the vegetables seemed adequately moistened with egg, I stopped.  It was not enough.  No, it was barely enough.  My life would have been a lot easier if I had used one more egg, though.  Which brings me to the second thing: don’t cook the galette over too high of heat or it will stick to the pan.  (Fortunately, I had enough to make two.)  And be sure to re-oil the pan in between sides.  What I mean is, I cooked it on one side until I could see just a bit of browning around the edges, then put a plate over the galette in the pan, flipped it out, (re-oil) and carefully slid it back into the pan, raw side down.  I repeated the plate trick and kept the first galette warm in the oven while I cooked the second one.  Minor mistakes aside, it’s a good technique: simple, yet interesting.  The resulting galette is warm and comforting, yet also fresh and healthy.  I served the first one with some spicy Chinese noodles and tofu in black bean sauce.  The second one we’re eating tonight, with chicken wings.

choucroute garnie with homemade bread

As planned, I also made the choucroute.  I threw together a quickie version of homemade sauerkraut (simmer shredded cabbage in a small amount of cider vinegar and sugar, with whole peppercorns, cloves, and juniper berries, and a splash of white wine at the end) on Saturday, so Sunday’s dinner was already half-made.  Last night I plopped the sauerkraut into a pot with bacon, onions, more white wine, and Montbéliard and Morteau sausages.  Simmer 30 minutes, done.  The bread?  My attempt at homemade sourdough.  It wasn’t very sour, but it was very good for sopping up the extra juice at the bottom of the bowl.

And the ice cream maker has been deflowered.  I caramelized apples in butter and sugar, then puréed them with a vanilla custard base.  Dare I say it made an outstanding ice cream?  Watch for a post, with recipe and pictures, later this week on Croque-CamilleRecipe and pictures can be found here.

Didn’t have time to get to the red beans and rice this week, but dried beans aren’t exactly perishable.  Rest assured it will happen, sooner rather than later.

Originally published on Seasonal Market Menus.

3 Comments
  1. February 24, 2010 7:11 pm

    Mmm, I might have to steal the idea for that galette. Sounds yummy. Doesn’t the black radish peel look a bit like tarmac? Scary. I was totally going to make red beans and rice with my dried red beans too! I’ve been making chili but I wanted to do something different and I love red beans and rice (who doesn’t?).

  2. February 24, 2010 8:22 pm

    That’s ok, I’m planning on stealing your idea for the roquefort gratin. :)

    And yes, the black radish skin didn’t look like anything i wanted to eat… or try to grate.

Trackbacks

  1. The Maiden Voyage of La Sorbetière « Croque-Camille

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 28 other followers

