Skip to content

This Week’s Harvest, 3/9

March 9, 2011

cauliflower, black radishes, kiwis, leeks, endives, shallots, eggs

Underneath all those leaves, that cauliflower is gorgeous.  Trust me.  I was feeling a little indecisive about what I wanted to do with it – I knew I wanted to make a vegetarian dinner for tonight, as it’s Ash Wednesday, the first of many meatless days in the near future for Nick and me.  But should I bake a cauliflower cake?  Gobi Mattar? A creamy-crunchy gratin?  Well, I called Nick to ask what he thought.  I’d been leaning towards the gratin (the better to sneak in some black radish) or the cake, so I could serve it with a broiled endive salad, but he was so enthusiastic about the Indian dish that I was convinced to make it.

Guess I’ll just have to broil those endives and smother them in a shallot-y vinaigrette later this week.  (Friday’s another meatless day.)  Perhaps a leek omelette is in order.

As for the kiwis, I’m curious to try my granita recipe as a sorbet.  But it’s still pretty chilly at night.  Has anyone out there ever roasted a kiwi?  Would a kiwi tarte tatin be feasible?  I’d love to hear your thoughts.

Originally published on Seasonal Market Menus.

 

4 Comments
  1. researchingparis permalink
    March 9, 2011 9:51 pm

    No further suggestions about the black radish? I’m going to have to work on that, I got a huge one in my panier today. How could Nick pass up the cauliflower cake? Soooo good.

  2. March 10, 2011 1:26 am

    Alas, I’ve only ever eaten kiwis straight! And I say go for the cauliflower cake – I’ve always loved the look of that :)

  3. March 10, 2011 3:58 pm

    Roast kiwifruit? I can honestly say I’ve never thought of that. I can’t imagine that it would be good. Wouldn’t the hairs burn? I’d love to hear about it if you were to try it of course. I do love some cauliflower, and somehow have a son who loves it too. I’ve been roasting cauliflower a lot the past six months. I wanted to buy one the other day, but it’s a bit early in the season, and while they looked quite nice they were $6-7 each. Not quite time yet. Maybe this week?

  4. March 10, 2011 8:32 pm

    researchingparis – Think of it as a horseradish, and see if that helps. The curry was pretty darn good, too, and probably a little bit healthier. :)

    Hannah – There will be more cauliflower in the Spring, I’ll be sure to do it again.

    Louise – I think I’d peel it first. ;)

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 28 other followers

