Skip to content

This Week’s Harvest, 3/16

March 16, 2011

cabbage, endives, potatoes, leeks, eggs, apples, beets

Quel beau chou!” I exclaimed upon opening my bag this afternoon.  That beautiful cabbage is going to serve two purposes this week.  Firstly, for St. Patrick’s Day tomorrow, I’ll be making colcannon.  It is a stroke of luck that I got potatoes and leeks, too, as both play major roles in said dish.  Secondly, I will attempt to recreate an unusual and delicious cabbage casserole I ate a few weeks ago in Budapest.

The beets and apples (and one leek) have been sliced and layered and are baking away, beginning to smell delicious.  Soon I’ll top them with slices of morbier and comté cheeses, and serve the sort-of-gratin with a salad of broiled endives.

That just leaves the eggs.  I think I’d like to bake some biscotti. Or these rye muffins.

Originally published on Seasonal Market Menus.

5 Comments
  1. March 17, 2011 12:05 am

    That is a beautiful cabbage!

  2. March 17, 2011 12:16 am

    Wheee! How exciting to see my recipe pop up there. But remember… no caraway ;)

  3. March 17, 2011 1:51 am

    That cabbage certainly is extraordinary- a belle chou indeed. Your produce always looks amazing. I think the world can be grateful that I don’t blog the random assortment of various things I get from the greengrocers or supermarket each week.

  4. March 17, 2011 7:30 am

    Agree with the others that you’re cabbage is gorgeous. I love the idea of baking apples and beets together and hurray for Hannah’s muffins. Report back please.

  5. March 19, 2011 6:41 pm

    Loulou – Delicious, too! :)

    Hannah – As if I need to be reminded. ;)

    Louise – Ha! I’ve been really pleased with the quality of the produce I get from this CSA. And I love that it’s year-round!

    Tammy – I baked the muffins this morning, though I changed the recipe a bit because I didn’t have any wheat germ. They were still very tasty and I credit Hannah for the inspiration.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 28 other followers

