Skip to content

This Week’s Harvest, 5/11

May 11, 2011

lettuce,spinach, carrots, eggs, strawberries, potatoes, parsley

Hello, spinach and potatoes, have I got an Indian recipe for you.

And it’s truly wonderful to see you again, strawberries.  You smell amazingly sweet with an almost citrusy perfume.  I think you’ll be simply delicious sliced over bowls of vanilla ice cream, maybe with a twist of black pepper.

Carrots and eggs, your juxtaposition in the photo is bringing visions of carrot flan – whether sweet or savory, I haven’t yet decided.

Oh, lettuce, I just can’t seem to consume you fast enough.  Let’s all be thankful that you are a particularly turgid specimen, as I expect it will help you to stay fresh until I can make you into many, many salads.

Sorry, parsley, I almost forgot you, hidden over there.  Tabbouleh, anyone?

Originally published on Seasonal Market Menus.

6 Comments
  1. May 11, 2011 8:12 pm

    Haha! You made me laugh on this post. I can just picture you there having this conversation out loud with your produce. :)

  2. researchingparis permalink
    May 11, 2011 8:17 pm

    Oh, man! I missed strawberries?? Let’s hope they make a reappearance for my double panier(s) sometime next week or the one after… I’ll hate myself for saying this soon enough, but I would kill for a week of salads right about now…

  3. May 12, 2011 1:25 am

    Sweet! I vote sweet!

    But then again, I ‘most always vote sweet ;)

    P.S. How is the new apartment?

  4. May 13, 2011 11:26 am

    Oh, I bet that those fresh strawberries are such a treat.

  5. May 14, 2011 7:16 am

    Monica – What? You don’t talk to your vegetables? ;)

    researchingparis – Here’s hoping! The strawberry season here is short, but they are SO good.

    Hannah – The new apartment is coming together nicely. And the new kitchen is great!

    Louise – They certainly are! I look forward to them every year.

Trackbacks

  1. Weekly Harvest (9) | Researching Paris

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 28 other followers

