Skip to content

This Week’s Harvest, 9/9/9

September 9, 2009

Late Summer Color

Contrary to what they told us to expect (shell beans, carrots, bell peppers and melon) today the CSA delivered zucchini, parsley, green beans, prune plums (quetsches in French), and a rainbow of tomatoes.

I don’t know what’s for dinner – I had had half a plan to do either a pasta or salad with the shell beans and some herbs from my windowbox garden – but I do know what’s for dessert: Plum clafoutis.  You can play along at home with this recipe, just substitute plums for the apricots.

As for the rest of it, I’m thinking about a parsleyed tomato salad with green beans, similar to the one described here; and maybe a savory zucchini bread, like this one I made with cauliflower last spring.

Originally published on Seasonal Market Menus.

2 Comments
  1. September 13, 2009 1:42 pm

    I love a CSA surprise, myself, but that picture compared with the list is a bit crazy! I got a few late summer peaches in my share yesterday and made an upside down cake…clafoutis sounds delicious!

  2. September 13, 2009 6:01 pm

    m – So do I. Usually the are better about predicting, but in this case, I’m not complaining. There’s plenty of time in the fall for shell beans and carrots.

Comments are closed.

