Skip to content

Savory Zucchini Bread, Warm Green Bean Salad, and Plum Clafoutis

September 12, 2009

Who knew zucchini bread could be savory?

Just as I said I would, I made the savory zucchini cake, which was delicious.  I used this recipe, substituting chickpea flour for the almond meal and leaving out the cheese.  Instead of roasted cauliflower, I used two medium-sized zucchini, which I sliced into planks and grilled, basting with a mixture of olive oil, lemon zest and juice, minced garlic, salt, and piment d’espelette.  I diced them before folding them into the batter.  The good news is: it turns out that this recipe is highly adaptable.  Feel free to play around with it, and be sure to let me know if you come up with anything cool.

I also made the warm green bean salad, with the addition (inspired by a classic of French cookery, Reboul’s La Cuisinière Provençale) of caramelized onions.  It was a fantastic one-pan dish.

Warm Salad of Green Beans and Tomatoes with Caramelized Onions

Simple, too.  Julienne a couple of onions and start them caramelizing over low heat in some olive oil.  Season with salt, pepper, and some fresh thyme.  While the onions are cooking, clean the green beans and break them in half.  Dice your tomatoes and chop your parsley, too.  When the onions are nice and browned, deglaze the pan with a splash of white wine vinegar.  Scrape all this onto a plate.  Crank up the heat under the pan and add a little more olive oil.  Sauté the green beans until crisp-tender.  Salt.  Put the onions back with the green beans and stir.  Turn off the heat and add the tomatoes and parsley.  Stir to combine and season to taste with salt, pepper, and lemon juice.  Serve warm or at room temperature.  This time, I served it alongside slices of the zucchini cake with a scoop of fresh sheep’s cheese on the side, for a completely satisfying meal.

I also managed the clafoutis (all in one night!), throwing a handful of raspberries in with the plums and using hazelnut meal in place of the almond.  The colors were gorgeous, the pictures, not as much.  Sorry.  It was delicious, though, both for dessert and for breakfast.

So now I’ve used up all the plums, all the green beans, half the parsley, and a few each of the zucchini and tomatoes.  In addition to some tasty leftovers, I predict fresh tomato and zucchini pasta in my near future.

Originally published on Seasonal Market Menus.

7 Comments
  1. Nadege permalink
    September 12, 2009 9:17 pm

    The zucchini bread looks wonderful. I am afraid to look at the clafoutis plum. I am suddenly getting very hungry!

  2. September 13, 2009 2:42 am

    Ive had my share of all sorts of zucchini breads but never savory!! This sounds fantastic!!

  3. September 13, 2009 2:07 pm

    Hurrah for your new blog! The savory cake looks divine… savory cakes have been a discovery for me in France. Wonderful at cocktail hour (my favorite meal). I’ll be linking to you on my blog, and look forward to checking in often to see what’s cookin’ from your panier.

  4. September 13, 2009 5:59 pm

    Nadege – Thank you! Reading food blogs has that effect on me, too. 🙂

    Jen – It was one of those things that, once I thought of it, I wondered how I never came up with it before.

    Ann – Cocktail hour is my favorite meal, too! 😉 Thanks for the linkage.

  5. ziabaki permalink
    October 5, 2009 7:08 am

    This got my attention! I have been inundated with zucchini this year. I mean really really inundated. I finally started feeding it to the chickens, who seem to be growing tried of it as well. None the less, I still forge forward trying this and that recipe. I think a savory zuc bread is a brilliant idea! I will be making this. Thank you

  6. ziabaki permalink
    October 5, 2009 7:09 am

    PS how does a American citizen get a job in Paris??

  7. October 5, 2009 5:31 pm

    ziabaki – Ha! That’s funny that even the chickens are tired of zucchini. 🙂 Re: the job in France, I am lucky enough to be married to an American scientist, whose profession is in enough demand here that they give out work visas for their spouses! Then it was simply a matter of convincing French pastry chefs that I knew what I was doing.

Comments are closed.

