Skip to content

This Week’s Harvest, 9/16

September 16, 2009

Carrots, cucumber, pears, Reine Claudes, tomatoes, and pâtisson

More surprises this week.  Namely the Reine Claude plums and the big white pâtisson.  I’ve never cooked with a pâtissonbefore, so I don’t know what to expect.  My preliminary internet research translates it as “pattypan squash,” and makes it out to be a summer squash.  Summer squash this is not.  The skin is tough (I busted out the cleaver to get it open) and the seeds are big and tough.  It smells like a winter squash, with a hint of artichoke.  Right now it is roasting in olive oil, rosemary (from the windowbox), and piment d’espelette.  I was debating tossing some potatoes and onions in there with it, then topping it with some grated cheese to make a gratin along the lines of this one.  But then I decided that simply serving it atop some polenta with dollops of burrata (my new Italian cheese obsession) would be quicker.

The cucumber I am thinking of pickling, the carrots will probably end up in some chicken soup, and the Reine Claudes will likely be eaten by themselves.  As for the tomatoes, I’m sure they’ll find their way into something.  Maybe I should chop one up right now and throw it in with the pâtisson.

Don’t think I’ve forgotten about the pears.  In fact, I’ve just posted a recipe for a spiced pear coffee cakeover on Croque-Camille!  I also like them in a frisée salad with blue cheese and pecans or hazelnuts.

Originally published on Seasonal Market Menus.

Comments are closed.

