Skip to content

This Week’s Harvest, 9/23

September 23, 2009

zucchini, tomatoes, celery, potatoes, apples

We’re really straddling the seasons right now.  Today’s panierfeatures two hot weather staples: tomatoes and zucchini, and three harbingers of cooler weather: celery, potatoes, and apples (in what I am afraid is the first in a string of approximately twenty-five weeks of apples).  It’s an odd batch of ingredients.  Does anyone know of any recipes that star celery?  I do love its root, celeriac, but all I can come up with for the celery is maybe a cream soup.  Fortunately I have a tub of jellified pig trotter stock in the fridge.  Everything it touches turns to culinary gold.

I might ask Nick to make his famous potato salad one last time for the season, or maybe we’ll just go straight for the pommes salardaises (potatoes sautéed in duck fat).  Speaking of pommes, It so happens that I have a recipe for an eggy apple-pecan cake torn from the New York Times Magazinesitting on my coffee table.  Now I have no excuse not to try it.  Unless I end up making some kind of tarte tatin.

The zucchini will likely end up in a sort of fritter/pancake concoction (great for using up leftover egg whites – what? you don’t always have a container of egg whites in your fridge?  You must have lower cholesterol than I do) and maybe a chocolate-zucchini cake.

For the tomatoes, I’m thinking salsa.  Grilled salsa.

Originally published on Seasonal Market Menus.

Comments are closed.

