Skip to content

Spaghetti Squash and Spinach Gratin, Green Bean Stir-Fry

October 5, 2009

I believe I said before that I expected the spaghetti squash to turn into mush.  Well, I was wrong.  Maybe I overcooked it last time, or got a bad one, or something.  Anyway, this one was awesome– I roasted it until I could prick the skin with a fork, then I let it cool a bit before scooping out the seeds and fluffing the flesh. Since I had already made some tomato sauce, I went ahead and layered the squash strands in the bottom of a gratin dish and poured the tomato sauce over the top.  Then I wilted a whole bag of spinach in a sauté pan with salt, pepper, and nutmeg (a natural with spinach) and, when it was cool enough not to warp my cutting board, I chopped it up and spread it over the tomato sauce.  Top the whole mess with some grated Comté cheese, bake until melty and bubbly – about 15 minutes – eat, and feel virtuous.

Melty cheese like this just makes me smile

On Saturday, I got together with Ann to cook up some more xiao long bao.  It was a team effort, and I provided the stock, for which I had to purchase and butcher a chicken.  The breast meat went straight into a stir-fry, like this one, which is a staple quick meal in our house.  For the rest of the stir-fry, the green beans provided the bulk, along with some carrots (I bought too many at the market – it’s so hard to resist when they’re 3 kilos for 2 euros).  Served over rice, it was another satisfying, vegetable-laden meal.

Green bean and carrot stir-fry

Originally published on Seasonal Market Menus.

Comments are closed.

