Skip to content

This Week’s Harvest, 10/13

October 13, 2009

Hello out there!  I have a special treat for you this week – a guest post from my friend Hope of the scrumptious Hopie’s Kitchen.  We’re having a crazy October full of visitors, houseguests, weekend trips, and concerts, so I moved my own panier back a couple of weeks (just another cool feature of our CSA).  Since I won’t be getting my own share this week, Hopie’s going to give us the rundown on hers.

Frisée, Swiss chard, tomatoes, Granny Smith apples, and potatoes

It is my great pleasure to be guest blogging this week on Croquecamille’s very practical offshoot blog. I appreciate how Camille is encouraging people to sign up for CSAs with Seasonal Market Menus, and I feel especially proud, since I recommended the paniers bio to Camille!

You pick up paniers bio either on Wednesday or Friday depending on your drop-off point is and, unlike Camille’s, mine come on Friday, great for experimenting over the weekend, not so great if you’re going away. Luckily, this week, I was around with plenty of time to play.

In the lot this week there were potatoes, tomatoes, frizzy salad (what?…yes, that’s the technical term), Swiss chard, granny smith apples and (missing from this photo) two beautiful heads of broccoli. A lovely mixed-season selection.

The broccoli got sautéed right away and thrown into leftover Beef Golden Curry and the granny smith apples that are missing from the group shot were dipped into fondu savoyarde.  I know it’s a bit early in the season for that but it’s been cold and rainy and it was my birthday, so I have excuses.

I’m thinking of doing something vaguely Indian with the Swiss chard since I’m not a big fan and would like to mask the flavor with lots of spices. The tomatoes have wonderful flavor so it would be a shame to cook them, in my opinion. They’ll probably be thrown into a nostalgic-for-summer caprese salad. As for the potatoes, I’ve been lobbying for D’s potatoes au gratin with smoked salmon for a couple weeks, and now there’s no excuse not to have them! I don’t know about the salad. I find it a bit bitter. Any ideas? Maybe with some eggs it would be okay – like an omelet or frittata…

I’ll let you know how it goes!

Originally written and photographed by Hopie, published on Seasonal Market Menus.

9 Comments
  1. October 13, 2009 6:50 pm

    Apples dipped in cheese fondue sounds heavenly! And I’m jealous that you got broccoli, but I must say that the cauliflower I got last week was awesome with a mustardy Béchamel sauce.

    I like frisée/frizzy salad as the base of a robust salad – bacon, caramelized onion, apple or pear, grapes, nuts, blue cheese, poached egg – it is a little bitter on its own, but it makes a nice counterpoint to rich toppings!

    Thanks so much for the guest post, Hope!

  2. October 13, 2009 7:03 pm

    Yeah, their cauliflower is quite good. I wish they did broccoli more often though. It’s so yummy and versatile!

    That frisée idea sounds delicious. I never thought of making it the counterpoint to a rich salad!

    Thanks for having me over!

  3. October 13, 2009 9:40 pm

    I have been reading about the CSA boxes bloggers are receiving but I have not understood until today how this system works. Are the vegetables local or are they imported? Do you choose the vegetables they send you or do you get what they send you? Shall be looking forward to seeing your recipes Hopie.

  4. October 14, 2009 7:23 pm

    Ivy – The vegetables from our CSA come from the Loire valley, about an hour from Paris. We don’t get to choose, we just get what they send, but that’s a big part of the fun for me! 🙂

  5. October 15, 2009 1:47 am

    Hopie — your fondue sounds great! Any pictures? I’d really like to sign up for a CSA next year. Since I’ll be in my own place and out of the downtown (where there isn’t anywhere to leave a basket), it’ll actually be possible.

  6. October 15, 2009 7:39 pm

    Everything sounds great! I could eat some potato au gratin with smoked salmon anytime…

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  7. October 15, 2009 11:47 pm

    Ivy – Thanks for stopping by! Camille answered for our CSA, but it depends on the system. If there are any near you, you’d have to ask them how they do it. Sometimes if you have to go pick them up at the farm, they also let you choose (within what they have available that week)…

    Psychgrad – Hm, well the problem is that I only make cheese fondu for parties and by the time I bring it out I’ve forgotten I need to get pictures, not to mention the terrible light! I’ll have to work on that. It would be great if you could get a CSA next year. Love to hear some of your seasonal recipes!

  8. Katharine Newhouse permalink
    October 16, 2009 1:49 am

    Do tell about what you finally did with the chard – I heard about it on the phone and it sounded divine!

  9. October 16, 2009 8:42 pm

    Rosa – Thank you! I agree! I’ve been trying to convince D. that potatoes au gratin is a once a week dish 🙂

    Mom – The follow up post is up now so you can see for yourself!

Comments are closed.

