Skip to content

This Week’s Harvest, 10/21

October 21, 2009

potimarron, apples, potatoes, mâche, and spinach

I’ve got bacon on the brain.  I look at this gorgeous fall produce (love the palette of fall – orange, brown, and yellow punctuated by deep, healthy green) and think, “Ooh!  I could make potimarron pizza.  With bacon!  Or potato-potimarron gratin.  With bacon!  Or risotto with potimarron and spinach.  And bacon!  Can you tell I’m excited about the potimarron?  Winter squash is something I don’t really get tired of, and potimarron is one of my favorites, with its sweet, nutty flavor.  The mâche will make an excellent salad to accompany any of those rather heavy dishes, and I’ve had a hankering for some pork and apple breakfast sausage ever since Sam brought it up.

Originally published on Seasonal Market Menus.

2 Comments
  1. October 22, 2009 11:58 pm

    Ooh, potimarron is one of my favorites too! I’m jealous. Oh and now I want bacon.

  2. October 27, 2009 7:58 pm

    Then it worked! 😉

Comments are closed.

