Skip to content

This Week’s Harvest, 10/28

October 29, 2009

I know, I’m a day late this week.  It’s been a hectic month, and I’m looking forward to laying low and eating lots of vegetables in the coming weeks.  To that end, I got a double share this week, to make up for the one I missed.

Batavia lettuce, broccoli, fennel, Bosc pears, carrots, and free herbal tea!

Pictured here isn’t even half of it.  We got four (yes, four) enormous heads of Batavia lettuce, two bunches of broccoli, four bulbs of fennel, and about two kilos each of Bosc pears and carrots.  Plus, free samples of herbal tea!  It was a good week to get two paniers.

So it looks like salad this week.  Every night.  Last night, Nick and I whipped up some quick dinner salads, topped with bacon, cheese, poached egg, and mustardy vinaigrette.  I’m excited about the broccoli – it always makes me feel so healthy!  Tonight I’ll be stirring some into macaroni and cheese, but the rest could become anything from pizza to soup.  Fennel is another favorite.  Some of it will end up grilled, on top of a salad, but I’ve got some great recipes for fennel focaccia, creamy fennel pasta, and fennel-braised chicken that bear repeating.  Carrots?  I have plans to make stock this weekend, but I think carrot muffins are in order, and maybe some soup, too.  The pears are also likely to wind up on top of a salad, but they are also delicious and juicy just as they are.  (I had one for breakfast this morning.)  Bosc pears are particularly well-suited for caramelizing, so a tatin-style dessert may be in the works.  And there’s always the spiced pear coffee cake.

If anyone out there knows of any tasty ways to use up lots of lettuce at once, I’d love to hear about them!

Originally published on Seasonal Market Menus.

3 Comments
  1. October 31, 2009 12:18 pm

    Oooh, four heads of lettuce to use before they wilt – that’s a tough order. Fun to get double broccoli, but double lettuce? You can’t even freeze lettuce or do much of anything that makes it last longer… Got any neighbors you could give a head to? Otherwise just lots and lots of salad? Luckily salad is extremely versatile.

  2. November 3, 2009 7:30 pm

    It happens to be good for lining steamer baskets… 😉

Trackbacks

  1. How To Make A Cream Soup « Croque-Camille

Comments are closed.

