Skip to content

This Week’s Harvest, 11/4

November 4, 2009

laitue, celeriac, golden apple squash, apples, potatoes, leeks

I wish this happened every week.  See those bright orange globes in the center of my panier haul?  They are called “courge pomme d’or,” or golden apple squash, and I had never seen or even heard of them before today.  When I opened the bag, I thought at first that they were oranges, which I found strange, since I doubt the Loire Valley is the ideal climate for growing citrus fruit.  But I reached in and picked one up and saw that it was not an orange but a tiny, round squash!  The only information I have on these adorable squashes is what is printed on the paper that accompanies the delivery each week.  The CSA people suggest roasting it in the oven with mushrooms or hollowing it out and baking an egg inside.  I’m sure I can come up with something better.

In the meantime, I also have celeriac (aka celery root), apples, potatoes, leeks, and a lettuce.  Tonight I plan on making a mash with the celeriac and some of the potatoes, maybe flavoring it with horseradish, and serving it with a steak and a salad.  If that doesn’t float your boat, we all know celeriac makes a great soup.

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, or so they say, but apples become a decadent treat when they’re caramelized and baked into a cake.  Or a triangle of flaky pastry.

Leeks are a great staple ingredient, but I definitely want to make this classic French dish again soon.

Originally published on Seasonal Market Menus.

2 Comments
  1. November 8, 2009 10:16 pm

    Those squash are adorable! I did something very similar with my celeriac last week: made it into a purée with a couple potatoes and served it with steak haché, both smothered with roquefort sauce. I got leeks this week too and have bookmarked a leeks au gratin recipe that looks pretty yummy.

  2. November 9, 2009 7:18 pm

    They were adorable! Tasty, too. 😉 And I think steak and celeriac must be made for each other. Leeks au gratin sounds like it would be good with steak, too… I don’t usually crave red meat like this – must be the cold weather!

Comments are closed.

