Skip to content

Celeriac-Potato Mash, Savory Squash-Apple Crumble

November 11, 2009

Since today is a holiday (Armistice 1918) in France, I’m not getting a delivery this week.  But I have been having a lot of fun with last week’s produce.  Just this morning I baked up a batch of apple-pecan muffins for breakfast, which were devoured warm – the best way to eat any kind of muffin.

Turns out celeriac makes a great addition to mashed potatoes.  Laced with horseradish, this hearty mash served double-duty: for dinner it accompanied a seared sirloin steak with red wine pan sauce and a leafy green salad, and it made a hearty lunch with a baked egg and some cheddar cheese.

Cheesy mashed celeriac and potatoes make a cozy nest for a baked egg.

I didn’t know what to expect from those adorable little golden apple squashes, but I’ll admit it wasn’t a skin so tough I gave up trying to cut through it and just roasted the little guys whole.  My savory squash crumble was supposed to be a simple, chop up some squash and apples, throw it in a dish with crumble topping, and bake.  No such luck.  Peeling the squashes was not going to happen.  So roasting it was.  And it was a blessing in disguise.  While I waited impatiently for the squashes to soften a bit, I noticed the leeks in the fridge, and decided that a few butter-softened leeks would really help the crumble along.  By the time the leeks were ready, so were the squash.  I halved them and pulled out the spaghetti-like flesh, which I then tossed with the leeks and some chopped apple.  Then came the easy, throw-it-in-the-oven-and-enjoy-a glass-of wine-while-it-cooks part.

Squash, apple, and leek crumble

I served it with a salad topped with dried cranberries (for chew, tang, and sweetness) and toasted hazelnuts (for contrasting crunch).  It was a fine cold-weather meal.  Twice.

Originally published on Seasonal Market Menus.

2 Comments
  1. November 13, 2009 3:42 pm

    What a rip off not getting a panier because of the holiday! I got the courge pomme d’or this week, and I think I’ll take your advice about roasting them whole…

  2. November 13, 2009 9:32 pm

    I know! I actually ended up putting a little water in the bottom of the roasting pan, so the squashes were sort of roasted/steamed.

Comments are closed.

