Skip to content

This Week’s Harvest, 11/18

November 18, 2009

potimarron, mâche, long radishes, potatoes, kiwis, and haricots lingots

Hooray!  I got two things this week that I was going to buy anyway: the potimarron is destined to become my Thanksgiving pie, and the haricots lingots (dried white beans – in the net bag there) will join forces with my duck confit to make cassoulet.  Potatoes are, of course, a staple, and these will likely end up on the Thanksgiving table as well – mashed, maybe with crème fraîche and green onions.  I will probably be serving the mâche tonight to take the gluttonous edge off the meatball sandwiches I have planned for dinner.

The bright red roots are called “radis long,” or “long radishes,” and I’ll admit I don’t have any idea what to do with them.  Ideas are welcome and encouraged.

Those little furry things are tiny kiwis (not mice, as my cat seemed to suspect) and they came with a note saying the sooner we eat them, the better they’ll be.  Looks like dessert is taken care of for the next few days.

Originally published on Seasonal Market Menus.

5 Comments
  1. November 20, 2009 11:57 am

    Hi Camille: Love the blog! Will follow along to see what you come up with. So far, I’m stumped as to what to do with 30+ mini kiwifruit (except pop them in my mouth) & it’s interesting to see you got radishes and mâche, and I got lettuce and fennel. (Wanna trade??)

  2. November 20, 2009 6:18 pm

    David – Thanks! Yeah, that was a LOT of kiwis. They’re always good on a fresh fruit tart…

    Heh. The mâche has already been eaten, but I would definitely trade a couple of radishes for a fennel bulb (love the stuff!) Do you have a cool idea for radishes?

Trackbacks

  1. This Week’s Harvest, 11/25 « Seasonal Market Menus
  2. Thanksgiving Leftover Salad; Braised Red Cabbage, Turnips, and Sausage « Seasonal Market Menus
  3. This Week’s Harvest, 12/9 « Seasonal Market Menus

Comments are closed.

