Skip to content

This Week’s Harvest, 11/25

November 25, 2009

Mâche, lettuce, red cabbage, carrots, turnips, apples

Since I essentially hoarded last week’s haul (I just roasted the potimarron, and it will become pie very shortly) I didn’t have much of interest to report.  The kiwis – about a dozen of them – made a delicious breakfast on the train down to Torino, scooped from their fuzzy skins with tiny plastic spoons.

Anyhow, this week I’ve got a lot to work with.  The cabbage will be braised, probably with some smoky Alsatian sausages to make a quick choucroute-like dish, one of my winter staple meals.  I’ll probably throw the turnips in there, too.  I’m thinking the (sandy, but tasty – I munched one as a snack while taking photos this afternoon) carrots could become a quick Thanksgiving hors d’oeuvre.  If only I had some ranch dressing handy.  Maybe bleu cheese?  Speaking of, I think the apples will be wonderful sliced with crumbles of gorgonzola picante… or smears of gorgonzola dolce.  Now there’s a Thanksgiving hors d’oeuvre idea.

The mâche I’m eating tonight, alongside a sausage and fontina pizza (guess what I bought in Italy?), and the other lettuce will provide welcome salad respite from the rest of the week’s heavy eating.

Originally published on Seasonal Market Menus.

