Skip to content

This Week’s Harvest, 12/16

December 17, 2009

leeks, kiwis, beets, parsnips, potatoes, mâche

It seems fitting that the day after I picked up my last panier of the year it snowed all day.  The cold makes me want hearty, roasted things, and fortunately the season’s vegetables are great candidates for such treatment.  I adore parsnips, and will probably be roasting them plain, but if I had gotten some apples this week I’d definitely be roasting them together.  I know exactly what I’ll be doing with those beets, too, and be assured it involves roasting as well.

The fate of the potatoes was sealed as soon as Jennifer (aka Loulou) reminded me of the glory that is tartiflette.  I will serve yet another mâche salad with it in order to assuage the guilt that comes along with essentially eating cheese, bacon, and potatoes for dinner.

This week’s kiwis are particularly beautiful, and I think I’ll use them to make a fruit salad for breakfast.  Or dessert.

As for the leeks, they’re going in the oven as I type.  I smell leeks vinaigrette!  Add a roast chicken from the nearest Halal butcher, and there’s dinner.

Originally published on Seasonal Market Menus.

Comments are closed.

