Skip to content

This Week’s Harvest, 1/13

January 13, 2010

potimarron, igname/yam, kiwis, potatoes, échalions/shallots, "winter radish"

Not a very exciting color palette this week.  Except for the gorgeous, bright orange potimarron, it’s all kind of brown.  Oh, I know that under that layer of dirt the radish is a shocking pinky-red, and under those fuzzy skins the kiwis are a luscious green, but on the outside, blah.

Fortunately, my ideas for this week’s haul are anything but blah.  As usual, I have too many ideas for the potimarron.  I could roast it and put it on a pizza with some caramelized onions and cheese. I could sauté it with sage and garlic and toss it with pasta and a little crème fraîche.  I could make soup.  Speaking of soup, I never got around to that oyster chowder I was talking about last week, but I still want it.  I can’t help but think that some chunks of potimarron would be welcome among the oysters, potatoes, and bacon.  The potatoes could also become gnocchi, but I admit right now that they probably won’t.  If they did, though, they’d be great with some of the squash, brown butter, and sage – it’s a classic for a reason.

The giant shallot looking things are, in fact, giant shallots.  They’re called échalions in French, and I’m not sure if we have a word in English for them.  But they are a sort of cross between onions and shallots, and I imagine can be used like either one.  I’m thinking French onion soup, because I can’t think of a more French onion than this!

If I hadn’t gotten one last year, I would have no idea what that large bristly root was.  Fortunately, I did get an igname last winter, and learned that it is a real live yam.  Not what Americans call a yam, which is a type of sweet potato, but a true yam.  According to the note that comes with the panier every week, igname has been grown in France since the 19th century, when it was imported from China.  I know it is delicious roasted, and am thinking of honoring its origins by glazing it in soy sauce.  I’ll serve it alongside crispy-skinned duck breast, and a Japanese-inspired salad composed of thinly sliced radish with miso vinaigrette.

For dessert, I am currently in the process of freezing some kiwi-jasmine tea granita.  I plan on serving it with whipped cream and kiwi slices.

Originally published on Seasonal Market Menus.

3 Comments
  1. January 15, 2010 9:16 pm

    I am not able to figure out how to leave a comment on your blog. Is it just me, I am technologically challenged as my kids have said before?
    Zut! J’aime beaucoup ton blog!

  2. Nick permalink
    January 16, 2010 10:13 am

    For their rather bland exteriors, the radish brushed up to a brilliant red, the potimarron brightened up a couple of dishes with its orange interior, and the kiwis made a fantastic, green-with-seeds, inside-out kiwi granita.

  3. January 16, 2010 12:26 pm

    Tasteofbeirut – No, you got it! 🙂 The comments here are moderated for first-time commenters, but now that you have one approved, you should be able to comment directly. And merci beaucoup!

    Nick – Thanks for the spoilers!

Comments are closed.

