Skip to content

This Week’s Harvest, 2/3

February 3, 2010

Apples, leeks, mâche, carrots, and topinambours

It certainly looks like winter around here.  Apples, leeks, mâche, carrots (note to the panier people: I’ll still believe the carrots are organic if they’re not covered in dirt), and topinambours (aka Jerusalem artichokes or sunchokes).

This week, for a change, I have a carrot recipe that I’m really excited to try: carrot cake pancakes!

Topinambours are something I look forward to in the winter.  We got them several times last year, and learning that I didn’t have to peel them was a huge time-saver.  This time, I think I’m going to simply sauté them in duck fat and serve them warm on a mâche salad with crispy caramelized leeks, apple slices, and a poached egg.  And thus I have used nearly all my panier ingredients in one hefty winter salad.

If there are leeks left over, and there probably will be, I’d like to try a leek version of French onion soup.

Originally published on Seasonal Market Menus.