Skip to content

Winter Vegetable Dinner Salad, French Onion Soup, and Carrot Cake Pancakes

February 6, 2010

Salad doesn’t necessarily sound like an appropriate winter dinner, but the ones I made on Wednesday night – with topinambours (Jerusalem artichokes, scrubbed, parboiled, and sliced), apples, and leeks sautéed in duck fat over a bed of mâche, topped with a poached egg and slices of cheese toast- were hearty, warming, and filling.

Use-up-the-panier Salad

As predicted, there were leeks left over, so I cleaned, chopped, and caramelized four of them with two onions, deglazed once with water and once with white wine, and then simmered the deliciously browned onions in homemade veal stock.  Obviously, cheesy croutons went on top (I guess we’re on a bit of a cheese toast kick this week).  French onion soup is one of those things that is so simple –  there are really only two ingredients: onions and stock – yet so satisfying.  Homemade stock makes a real difference here.

French onion soup with cheesy toast.

This morning, I made the carrot cake pancakes.  I halved the recipe and got four big pancakes.  Instead of honey butter, I stirred some chestnut honey into a pot of yogurt to approximate the tang of the cream cheese frosting that usually accompanies carrot cake.  The pancakes cooked up a little dark, which I suspect is due to the dark brown sugar I used, but very light, cakey, and tasty.  I kept them warm in the oven as I cooked, and when I opened the oven the scent of freshly baked carrot cake wafted out.  What a delightful way to work some vegetables into breakfast!

Carrot cake pancakes with honeyed yogurt

Originally published on Seasonal Market Menus.

4 Comments
  1. February 8, 2010 3:37 am

    I’ve never been keen on pancakes, but these look divine! A bit of a step up from the lemon + sugar on plain pancakes experiences of my childhood (although that combination has its place, too, I’m sure!)

  2. February 8, 2010 7:15 pm

    My favorite pancake for lemoning and sugaring is the Dutch baby, which I’m sure goes by many different names. It’s a puffy, eggy, ethereal-type pancake, and is divine with lemon juice and a sprinkle of powdered sugar.

  3. February 8, 2010 7:38 pm

    *hyperventilates* That’s the only type of pancake my mother ever cooked! I even originally wrote “lemon and sugar on Dutch Baby pancakes” but then edited for some bizzarre reason 😛 She used to bake one big one and cut it into quarters for each member of my family 🙂

  4. February 8, 2010 9:12 pm

    Peas in a pod.

Comments are closed.

