Skip to content

This Week’s Harvest, 2/10

February 10, 2010

It has snowed here the last two days, but not enough to really stick or accumulate or be pretty.  No, it snows all day, and then by the time I leave work, it is slushy and sludgy and drippy.  And cold.  We were having some fairly balmy temperatures for a while there, but now it’s back to freezing.  In concordance with the wintry weather, I got another extremely wintry selection of produce this week: celeriac, leeks, potatoes, onions, mâche, and apples.

Leeks, mâche, celeriac, potatoes, onions, and apples

The snow has me thinking one thing: mashed potatoes.  A simple, homey meal sounds just about right, so I think I’ll pan-sear a steak, pick up the fond with some sliced onions and red wine, and eat it with a heaping side of skin-on (how could I even dream of taking off those lovely red skins?) mashed potatoes.  Of course a meal like that needs a salad, and I think the mâche and apples will be happy to play that role.

I’m intrigued by this lasagne idea, where celeriac purée stands in for the more traditional béchamel sauce. I’m no stranger to messing around with lasagne, so I’ll probably find a way to work the leeks in there, too.  (Although that celeriac gratin a few weeks a go was so good, I’m tempted to just make it again.)

The New York Times is full of inspiring recipes this week – I also want to try out these 100% whole wheat muffins made with fruit purée.  (Apples, meet Immersion Blender.)

Originally published on Seasonal Market Menus.

3 Comments
  1. February 14, 2010 12:45 pm

    I know – it’s been snowing like it rains – drizzling and misting, but with snow! Your mashed potatoes look like just the thing.

  2. February 15, 2010 7:25 pm

    Hopie – Somehow, mashed potatoes taste even better when it’s snowing, even if it is lame, drizzly snow.

Trackbacks

  1. Mashed Potatoes, and a Confession « Croque-Camille

Comments are closed.

