Skip to content

This Week’s Harvest, 2/24

February 24, 2010

Mâche, leeks, apples, beets, potatoes, eggs, parsnip

They’ve started a new thing with the panier since the beginning of the year: they now post the upcoming week’s produce (as well as which farmer grew it!) on their website a few days before the bags are actually delivered.  Sometimes I remember to check it, sometimes I don’t, but it can be very helpful for meal-planning purposes.  This week, for example, I knew I would be getting beets.  So I’ve been ruminating on beets, and what to do with them, now that it turns out I might actually like them.  I want to see if I can make them the star of a meal, instead of relegating them to the sidelines.  I’m thinking Parisian gnocchi, and I’m thinking it’s going to be really good.  But I’ll get back to you.

I also received the world’s largest parsnip.  Hello, roasted parsnips and apples!

Hope just posted a scrumptious-looking recipe for blue cheese-potato gratin, and I’ve been anticipating the potatoes and leeks ever since I read it.

The mâche, as usual, will play the role of side salad… does anyone know anything else to do with this stuff?

And last but not least, the eggs.  Nick fried up a couple of them for breakfast over the weekend, and they were beautiful.  We both noticed a flavor and texture superior to the eggs we usually buy.  So while eggs will go into the aforementioned Parisian gnocchi, I kind of want to reserve these eggs for special projects where their gifts will shine, like mayonnaise or meringue.  (Mayonnaise makes me think of sandwiches, which makes me think that mâche might be good on sandwiches.)

Originally published on Seasonal Market Menus.

3 Comments
  1. February 28, 2010 12:35 pm

    Once I made a light cream soup with mâche, like you would with watercress. It was great!

  2. February 28, 2010 1:35 pm

    Loulou – Thanks! I’ll have to give that a try!

Trackbacks

  1. This Week’s Harvest, 3/3 « Seasonal Market Menus

Comments are closed.

