Skip to content

Parisian Gnocchi with Balsamic Beets; Gratin of Potatoes and Leeks with Blue Cheese

March 1, 2010

Well, the parisian gnocchi with beets turned out every bit as delicious as I had hoped.  Every time I make pâte à choux, I am pleasantly surprised at how little time and effort it takes.  I mixed up the dough and let it rest for a bit while I heated up a pot of water in which to poach them and made a stovetop version of my balsamic-bacon beets.  When I went to poach the gnocchi, I decided to just scoop them with a small spoon and push them into the water with my finger, which resulted in charming indented-spherical shapes.  I tossed the cooked gnocchi with the beets in the sauté pan for a couple of minutes, then scooped it into shallow bowls.  Topped with dollops of fresh ricotta cheese and toasted pine nuts, it made an excellent dinner, and a prime example of using meat as a condiment or flavoring rather than making it the focus of the meal.

Parisian gnocchi with balsamic-bacon beets, ricotta, and pine nuts

I also made Hopie’s blue cheese-potato gratin this week, and I’m afraid the only word for it is “scrum-diddly-umptious.”  I pretty much followed her recipe, except that I used only leeks (no onion), and I left out the mushrooms (mainly because I forgot to buy them) and black radish, and I didn’t peel the potatoes, and I winged it on the béchamel, and I just topped it with more of the blue St. Agur cheese I used in the sauce.  Which is typical of how I use recipes in general.  I read them, I get an idea of what they’re about, and then I just cook without consulting the recipe again.  I’m sure my gratin tasted different than Hope’s, and I’m equally sure that they were both very good.  We ate ours with a big helping of salad (you guessed it – mâche).

Potatoes, leeks, ham, and St. Agur blue cheese.  Yum!

Originally published on Seasonal Market Menus.

7 Comments
  1. March 2, 2010 6:14 am

    I’m not a huge beet fan but your gratin looks amazing.

  2. March 2, 2010 4:46 pm

    Haha, I love how you say you made “my” gratin but without half the ingredients and differently 😉 That’s I how cook too. And our dishes had something else in common: mache salad, ah yes.

  3. March 2, 2010 6:49 pm

    Tammy – I wasn’t a big beet fan either, until I started roasting them with bacon and balsamic vinegar. I encourage you to give it a try. And thank you!

    Hopie – Mâche and apple salad has become a thing around here, of late.

  4. Maya permalink
    March 9, 2010 6:46 am

    I knew there was a reason we were such good friends all that time ago– it sure wasn’t that I could dance like you… it was the obsession with delicious food! I was just saying to my wife, “We have potatoes and leeks from farmer’s market this week; I wonder if there is a good potato leek gratin recipe somewhere?” And then I read your blog! Excellent– I’m making it for dinner tomorrow (and even have local farmer’s market cheese for it!).

  5. March 9, 2010 7:50 pm

    Maya – Hooray! The gratin was delicious, I hope you enjoy it. And reading your comment on the Métro this morning totally started my day off right. So thank you. 🙂

  6. Maya permalink
    March 12, 2010 7:28 am

    I love reading your blog and thinking about how I am getting to re-know you through this crazy electronic world– and how we obviously got it right way back in 7th grade. Let me know if you’re ever visiting Portland… or maybe I’ll come up with a good statistics conference to go to in Paris.

  7. March 13, 2010 1:19 pm

    I definitely will. And do look for conferences in Paris! I’d love to show you around!

Comments are closed.

