Skip to content

This Week’s Harvest, 3/10

March 11, 2010

eggs, potatoes, leeks, mâche, onions, apples, carrots

Can I admit that I’m getting a little tired of winter?  Potatoes, leeks, carrots, mâche, and apples are getting a little boring, I’m afraid.  Even the sky is tired of winter – we’ve been getting lots of sun – but somehow the season wins out in the end and it’s still cold and windy down on the ground.  Which naturally brings me to pot pie.

In a search for inspiration, I was flipping through Martha Stewart’s Dinner at Home, and came across a recipe for curried vegetable potpies.  Potatoes?  Check.  Carrots?  Check.  Leeks?  Check.  Parsnips?  No such luck, but I’ll substitute apples – curries generally work well with the sweet/savory combination.  I’m no stranger to a nice, meaty potpie, but this vegetarian version intrigues me.  Especially during Lent, when I like to take meatless Fridays as an opportunity to broaden my cooking horizons.  And then, in one of those excellent internet synchronicities, Loulou blogged about a vegetable curry.  I’m taking it as a sign.

I’d also like to take a page from Hungry Dog’s book and get excited about carrots.  Which reminds me, I made an awesome carrot soup a while back.

And Jenni wrote a whole post about meringue, which reminded me of how much I love dacquoise (meringue with nuts folded in, then baked until crispy).  Those eggs won’t know what hit them!

Originally published on Seasonal Market Menus.

One Comment

Trackbacks

  1. Curried Vegetable Pot Pie « Seasonal Market Menus

Comments are closed.

