Skip to content

This Week’s Harvest, 3/17

March 17, 2010

spinach, cabbage, apples, celeriac, potatoes, eggs

Today’s bag was HEAVY.  Imagine, both the huge celeriac and the huge cabbage, plus apples, potatoes, and eggs?  The spinach was the only light thing in the whole bag.  Speaking of light, I’m excited to cook something super fresh and healthy with the spinach, only I haven’t decided what just yet.  But anything made with spinach is healthy, right?  Even cheesy baked eggs?

Healthy or not, I really want to make that celeriac gratin again.

I’m delighted that I got cabbage and potatoes on St. Patrick’s Day, and intend to whip up a hearty batch of colcannon.  I’m considering baking the apples with a little brown sugar and some pecans for dessert.

And now, my friends, to the Guinness!  Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

Originally published on Seasonal Market Menus.

2 Comments
  1. March 17, 2010 10:45 pm

    Hope the potatoes boiled in the appropriate manner for the colcannon! But it’s hardly appropriate to be baking those particular apples today – you need some granny smiths, not red apples! 😛

    (Also, I hereby reclaim a small measure of dignity by stating that I’ve figured out what you meant by panier day…)

  2. March 18, 2010 9:12 pm

    Hannah – I’d love it if we got Granny Smiths (or, as they’re known here, Grannys), but I guess none of the participating farmers grow them. Eh, I liked your definition of panier day – sounds like a nightmare! 🙂

Comments are closed.

