Skip to content

This Week’s Harvest, 3/31

March 31, 2010

lettuce, radishes, turnips, eggs, beets, carrots, apples

Hello, color!  Today’s panier just makes me happy with its rainbow.  Pink radishes, red and yellow apples, orange carrots, green lettuce (not to mention the bonus radish tops and turnip greens), lavender turnips, purple beets, and brown eggs.

So now that I like beets*, I’m thinking about how delicious they could be paired with the right cheese.  I happen to have a wonderfully ripe camembert in my fridge, and I’m pondering either a salad with roasted beets, poached egg, tart apple dressing and camembert, or else a gratin, layering the beets with onions and apples and topping it with slices of cheese at the very end of cooking time.  Either way, I’m going to need some bread.

I’m excited about the cute little turnips – spring turnips are so much more tender and sweet than their winter counterparts.  Last year I made a pretty darn tasty lentil salad with butter-cooked turnips and sautéed turnip greens.  I bet carrots would be tasty in there, too.

As for the radishes, since they’re the first ones of the season, I’m tempted to just slather them in butter and dip them in salt.  Spring may finally be here!

*Prepared in certain ways, that is.  Boiled and steamed, begone!

Originally published on Seasonal Market Menus.

3 Comments
  1. researchingparis permalink
    March 31, 2010 10:57 pm

    So I am too late, after all, to follow you into panier land, at least with your company. But I would love some advice (and maybe some translation) to pick out another, if available… I want to play with my food too!

  2. April 2, 2010 6:38 pm

    Really? I guess they do block subscriptions every now and then (I had to wait a few months when I wanted to join) but they try to open up as soon as possible. I’ve been meaning to put up another page on this blog with just that kind of information, so thanks for the kick in the butt.

    For paniers that don’t require a subscription, there are Le Haut du Panier (beautiful produce grown in Ile de France – the box is pricey, but Nick and I were eating from it for two weeks!) and Tous Primeurs (has several options for size and type of delivery).

Trackbacks

  1. Beets Baked with Apples and Camembert, Warm Lentil Salad with Buttery Turnips and Turnip Greens « Seasonal Market Menus

Comments are closed.

