Skip to content

This Week’s Harvest, 4/7

April 7, 2010

lentils, potatoes, kiwis, spring onions, eggs, cabbage, radishes

My main challenge this week is finding ways to eat the leftover beef from our Easter brunch.  We tried to order a brisket, but the butcher insisted that we buy it with all the bones attached, so we came home with this humongous chunk of cow, which we proceeded to slow-roast for 18 hours.  It was delicious, served with borracho beans, mole sauce, and fresh tortillas, but we have a ridiculous amount of meat left over.  So I’m excited about the green onions, because I think they’ll make a lovely garnish to a brisket mole rice bowl.  On a completely unrelated note, I also think they’ll be good inside a tuna melt.  (I did just bake that lovely bread…)

Last week’s radishes got devoured at the aforementioned Easter brunch, simply dipped in salt.  The same fate probably awaits these guys, unless I decide to make coleslaw with the cabbage.  Either way, I’ve been intrigued by Clotilde’s radish top pesto for a while now, and given the large amount of healthy leaves on these radishes, I may just have to give it a try.  I bet it would be good on steamed potatoes… that could make for a pretty interesting potato salad, actually.

I’m considering doing a stuffed cabbage thing with some of the leftover brisket, but I think it would be even better if I had leftover Easter ham.

Lentils always make me happy, but darn it if I didn’t just buy a couple of bags of them.  At least they keep.

Possibly the most exciting thing in this week’s panier is the return of the kiwifruit.  To me, it signals the beginning of the end of apple season, which, don’t get me wrong, I like apples, I just don’t like having to eat them ALL THE TIME.  Last year, I made a classic French fruit tart with the first kiwis of the spring.  To be honest, that’s very unlikely to happen this time, considering I’m supposed to be packing up my kitchen to move in less than 10 days.

Speaking of the move, this is my last panier before I switch kitchens.  I’ve postponed next week’s delivery, and then the company takes their spring break (which always makes me wonder, because it’s not like the vegetables go on vacation too…).  I’ll be back with more seasonal goodness, and hopefully a more appropriately Spring-y photo for the header, on May 5th.

Originally published on Seasonal Market Menus.

2 Comments
  1. April 8, 2010 1:26 pm

    I love the dark crinkliness of savoy (it is savoy, right?) cabbage, though I’m actually not sure I’ve ever cooked with it! (It’s far easier to find, say, Asian wombok in Australia than these darker cabbages).

    Mostly, though, I’m loving your thin-layer-of-melted-chocolate addition to that kiwi fruit tart. When isn’t an extra helping of chocolate a good thing? (Which leads into a thumbs up from me for the mole idea…)

  2. April 9, 2010 8:24 pm

    Hannah – As far as I can tell, yes, that is Savoy cabbage. Strangely enough, it is often cheaper than white or red cabbage in the French supermarket! And yes, an extra helping of chocolate is always welcome. 🙂

Comments are closed.

