Skip to content

This Week’s Harvest, 5/5

May 5, 2010

Eggs, two lettuces, carrots, apples, cabbage, white asparagus

I’m dismayed.  I haven’t gotten a panier in three weeks, and I was hoping that the double panier (pictured here is half of it) after the Spring vacation would be full of Spring delights like strawberries, rhubarb, peas, and asparagus.  But no.  Instead of strawberries, I get apples.  Again.  Instead of peas, I get cabbage.  Instead of rhubarb, I get more carrots.  Granted, these are sweet new spring carrots, but still.  And instead of asparagus, I get stupid white asparagus.  I remain perplexed as to the French fascination with the fat, stringy, white spears when they could be growing slim, tender, tasty green ones.  At least these aren’t too overgrown, and have photogenic purple and green tops which make for a lovely new blog header.

Putting all the vegetables away was an adventure, seeing as the new apartment does not yet have its full-size fridge (Saturday, Saturday).  Getting everything in its place involved emptying out the current fridge entirely, cleaning it out, and rearranging so that I could fit almost everything in there.  One of the heads of cabbage is being turned into kimchi immediately (along with a couple of the carrots, probably), and I’m using both bunches of asparagus in tonight’s risotto, for which I made vegetable stock using the tougher stalks of asparagus, an apple, a couple of carrots, an onion, and a bay leaf. 

We’ll have a couple of big dinner salads this week, with poached eggs (I have missed the organic eggs – the cheap ones just don’t cut it anymore) and whatever else I feel like putting on there.  If the kimchi comes out, there may be kimchi omelettes in our future.  I’d also like to roast some of those carrots, since the new apartment’s new oven kicks ass and has a rotisserie function whereby I can roast a chicken, a hunk of veal, or whatever, and let the juices drip down onto the carrots.  My mouth is watering already.

Originally published on Seasonal Market Menus.

3 Comments
  1. May 6, 2010 3:26 am

    Lovely to see you putting your mind to work and turning the momentary disappointment into fabulous ideas! Yay positivity 🙂 Also loving the idea of using an apple in stock, as I’ve never heard of that before. And hopefully strawberries and rhubarb will appear in the next batch!

  2. May 6, 2010 7:32 pm

    Hannah – I like to put apples into vegetable stock because I think the pectin helps to give it a little bit of body that might otherwise be lacking. And here’s hoping for a Spring-ier harvest next week! 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. White Asparagus Risotto and Big Dinner Salads « Seasonal Market Menus

Comments are closed.

