Skip to content

White Asparagus Risotto and Big Dinner Salads

May 9, 2010

Well, the risotto was a resounding success, if I do say so myself.  I even declared at some point during dinner that it was hands down the best thing I’ve ever done with white asparagus.  (The previous winner was this eggy piperade sauce I made to go with them last year.)  What made it so good?  Well, apart from the homemade vegetable stock, I’d say it was the crispy fried onions I sprinkled over the top.  The onions were a gift from Jennifer of Chez Loulou, who I finally get to meet a few weeks ago when she was in Paris.  (And I must apologize, Jennifer, because even though I know full well that they were handmade in the Languedoc, Nick and I can’t stop calling them funyuns.  Or eating them.)

asparagus risotto with crispy fried onions

But the risotto wasn’t the only meal we had this week to benefit from the funyuns.  Regular readers will know that big salads are a pretty common dinner in our house, topped with egg, some kind of cured meat or cheese, and whatever seasonal vegetables and fruits appeal.  This week’s salad featured poached egg, slices of jambon de Savoie, apples, and of course, a sprinkling of crispy onions.

big dinner salad

The cabbages made a couple of delicious if unphotogenic meals yesterday.  For breakfast Nick cooked up some kimchi scrambled eggs, and for dinner I threw together a braised cabbage dish along the lines of choucroute.  It feels good to have the panier back – it always increases our consumption of fresh vegetables, which is never a bad thing.

Originally published on Seasonal Market Menus.

3 Comments
  1. May 10, 2010 5:34 am

    You can take the girl out of America… 😛 Applause for turning the asparagus disappointment into marvellousness. And I do like the sound of kimchi scrambled eggs!

  2. May 10, 2010 6:08 pm

    Hannah – I highly recommend kimchi scrambled eggs. They did a fantastic job of chasing out the previous night’s demons and gave me the quick energy I needed for yet another trip to IKEA.

  3. May 11, 2010 4:28 am

    Would you believe I’ve never been to IKEA? The friend I’m moving out with is horrified by this fact, and is determined for us to do a road-trip once we’ve found ourselves a place (hopefully with a stove that can cook two things at once).

Comments are closed.

