Skip to content

Salmon with Roasted Vegetables and Mustard-Herb Butter, Rhubarb-Strawberry Pie

May 16, 2010

Thanks (again) to a suggestion from Martha, I decided to serve the roasted potatoes, kohlrabi, and salmon with a tasty compound butter flavored with whole-grain mustard and fresh herbs.  The herbs I chose, parsley, chives, and dill, complimented the fish marvelously.  It tasted as fresh and healthy as it was easy to make.  And now I have leftover dill with which to make pickles!

Roast salmon, potatoes, and kohlrabi with mustard-herb butter

I baked the rhubarb-strawberry pie on Saturday morning while waiting for yet another delivery (sliding door for the bathroom this time).  I had fun weaving the lattice top with the sun streaming through my kitchen window for the first time in weeks, and then later enjoyed the smell of baking rhubarb while I appreciated how awesome my new oven is.

Lattice top

The pie made a fantastic breakfast.

I ended up going the Indian route with the chard, using my hand-ground Indian spice blend and adding in some chopped up leftover roast chicken and serving it over cumin-scented rice.  It wasn’t much in the looks department, but it was incredibly tasty and filling.  We also had a simple but refreshing salad topped with sliced radishes as a starter to the leftover pasta bake, which really helped round it out as a meal.  Turns out pie is good for that kind of thing, too.  Rounding out a meal, I mean.

Originally published on Seasonal Market Menus.

3 Comments
  1. May 17, 2010 8:02 am

    How I love mustard, and herbs, and mustard. Beautiful latticing, too! Glad to hear the oven is awesomeness. (Kinda makes up for the cantankerous stove-top, maybe?)

  2. May 17, 2010 2:27 pm

    What a picture perfect pie, Camille! I’ve been inspired by rhubarb too — last night I made a strawberry-rhubarb crisp. That’s the talentless-baker’s version of a pie. 😉

  3. May 17, 2010 6:39 pm

    Hannah – Well, I did get to buy a fancy new pot so I could make stock in the oven… 😉

    Ann – I love rhubarb crisps and crumbles! Just because it’s easy doesn’t make it any less delicious!

Comments are closed.

