Skip to content

This Week’s Harvest, 5/19; Cauliflower “Cake”, Herbed Carrot Salad with Harissa Dressing, and Strawberry Sundae

May 21, 2010

Strawberries, new potatoes, cauliflower, radishes, carrots, eggs

Pardon the lateness of this week’s post.  Wednesday I was having fun at a book signing and invited a friend over for dinner, and Thursday turned into a surprise busy day.  So here we are on Friday, and already half the panier is gone.  The good news is that now I can share what I did!  It’s like two posts in one (although that’s really more of a bonus for me – and my pressed-for-time readers).

The cauliflower never even saw the inside of the fridge.  I immediately chopped it up and roasted it, so that I could quickly throw together the batter for my now famous savory cauliflower cake* after the book event.  (Earlier in the week I had been plotting to make a cauliflower version of this vegan curry, but then the sun came out and stews no longer appealed.)  While the cake baked, I mixed up a variation on this carrot salad (sub dill for the mint, add chives, sub piment d’espelette for paprika, omit caraway and feta, and don’t measure anything).  Really, I think the harissa is the point, here (oh, and use at least twice the harissa).  It made a fantastic vegetarian meal – colorful, tasty, and best of all, harmonious.

Cauliflower "Cake" and herbed carrot salad with harissa dressing

The strawberries were so sweetly perfumed with a mysterious hint of citrus that it was difficult not to just eat them all on the spot.  But I managed to wait until I could slice them over scoops of vanilla ice cream, drizzle them with chocolate sauce and sprinkle over a handful of David Lebovitz’ crispy French Almonds, which have become a pantry staple around here.

Strawberries, ice cream, chocolate sauce, and almonds - a perfect sundae

As for the rest of the panier, fresh spring radishes make such a good apéro snack, and potatoes and eggs are pretty much Nick’s favorite breakfast (remind me to get him to do a guest post about his breakfast potatoes), and I honestly don’t see any reason to do anything else with them.  Although, now that I think about it, all those ingredients could go into one delicious potato salad…

* Not really.

Originally published on Seasonal Market Menus.

3 Comments
  1. May 22, 2010 6:26 am

    I think that cauliflower cake should be famous. I’d much rather invite it into my home than Lady Gaga, any day. She doesn’t look at all tasty.

    I’ve never particularly loved strawberries because it can be so hard to get flavourful ones. I’m guessing that’s where the appeal of the panier comes in… fresh, tasty fruits and veggies year round…

  2. May 29, 2010 7:41 pm

    Yeah, not-perfectly-ripe strawberries aren’t really worth eating, in my opinion. Unfortunately, that pretty much means I only get to eat them a few weeks out of the year. Because when they’re good, they’re so very very good.

Trackbacks

  1. This Week’s Harvest, 5/26; Asparagus Pizza, Herbed Zucchini Frittata « Seasonal Market Menus

Comments are closed.

