Skip to content

This Week’s Harvest, 5/26; Asparagus Pizza, Herbed Zucchini Frittata

May 29, 2010

Lettuce, white asparagus, celery, eggs, strawberries, zucchini

Another busy week means another 2-in-one post.  Wednesday, instead of my regular post, I had to rush out to pick up the new cable/internet/phone box, which, unfortunately, did not solve the problem we’ve been having since we moved where the phone doesn’t work.  It has now been over a month.  Grr.  Anyway, when I got home I had to get started on some pizza dough, because I wanted asparagus pizza for dinner.  Inspired in part by Ruhlman’s re-post, I was considering making a bacon, egg, and asparagus pizza, but somehow it morphed into an asparagus, sausage, and feta one.  It was delicious with a glass of rosé and a side salad sprinkled with toasted pine nuts and more feta.

asparagus, sausage, and feta pizza dinner

I fell immediately in love with the deep green, tiny zucchinis, and wanted to make something that would highlight how perfectly small and sweet they were.  With all those lovely fresh eggs, and some more feta (would you believe I bought the smallest possible container at the Turkish shop?), they made a delicious frittata, seasoned with lemon zest, garlic, and herbes de Provence.  (It should be noted that this is one of my favorite ways to prepare zucchini.)

Zucchini frittata with feta and herbes de provence

In a happy coincidence, I happen to have recently replenished our peanut butter supply, and I can think of no better use for the celery we got this week.  (I’m also happy to get celery, because it can be hard to find in French markets, and because it’s one of the “dirty dozen.”)  Nick also chopped some of it up to put in a tuna sandwich, another very good, childhood-throwback use for celery, a vegetable I’m afraid is doomed to remain a supporting player for the entirety of its career.

The strawberries we got this time have an almost peachy aroma, and as much as Joe Pastry’s recent series made me crave strawberry shortcake, I’d be lying if I said I did anything with them other than make more sundaes.

Originally published on Seasonal Market Menus.

6 Comments
  1. shahzad yaqoob permalink
    May 29, 2010 9:35 pm

    Recipe of a perfect and easy homemade pizza, read the article below:

    http://hubpages.com/hub/-The-Perfect-Homemade-Pizza

  2. May 30, 2010 2:05 am

    *claps* Peanut Butter! (The celery reference – does that mean you made “ants on a log”? I’ve never, ever had that, although I think it came up rather frequently in such high-quality reads as The Babysitter’s Club). Also, I think my brother would cry if I ever tried to make him asparagus pizza. Just as well he won’t be living in Smurf Kitchen, then 😀

  3. May 30, 2010 12:07 pm

    Hannah – As a lifelong raisin-hater, I’ve always preferred my logs ant-less. I’m glad to know that Smurf Kitchen will be a safe place for pizzas of all stripes. 🙂

  4. May 30, 2010 1:02 pm

    Would you be surprised to learn that I’m an avid raisin-hater too? Because I wasn’t to hear that you are 😀 But here’s the thing… I’ve never even had the ant-less logs.

  5. May 31, 2010 5:25 pm

    I was just wondering what to do with a big bag of zucchini that came in my CSA. Thank you.

  6. June 6, 2010 9:07 pm

    Hannah – Not at all. 🙂

    Tammy – It’s my pleasure! We got tons of zucchini last year, but fortunately it’s an ingredient I love playing with!

Comments are closed.

