Skip to content

This Week’s Harvest, 9/8

September 8, 2010

Apples, green beans, parsley, radishes, tomatoes, zucchini

We seem to be having some kind of seasonal identity crisis here.  The tomatoes and zucchini scream, “late summer,” but I always thought of radishes as a springtime treat.  And apples?  Already?  We still have a few more weeks until fall is officially upon us!  Then there’s the range of reds and greens – Christmas colors if I ever saw them.

I have lots of ideas for the tomatoes and zucchini, which is a good thing because this week was another double panier (hey, got to up the vegetable intake after a month-long self-indulgent vacation).  Tonight I’ll be cooking up a tasty vegetable dal – can’t get enough Indian – using them and some green beans, too.  Later in the week I’ll probably be making pasta sauce.  If there are any left over after that, the infinitely variable zucchini strata is always a satisfying meal.

Green beans are another vegetable I rarely tire of.  I made the raja green beans a few times over the vacation, and they were a big hit. They’re also great in salads, whether accompanied by potatoes, tomatoes and caramelized onions, or ham, and I loved them tossed with mustard and honey alongside a roast chicken leg.  Plus they pretty much always get along with parsley, of which I got two bunches this week.  (Tabbouleh, anyone?)

It’s so easy to just nibble on the radishes until they’re gone, but I’ve found some intriguing cooked applications for them lately.  One is (of course) Indian – as a filling for fried flatbread.  The other is English, courtesy Fergus Henderson, where they are briefly sautéed in duck or goose drippings.  What isn’t good when it’s cooked in duck or goose drippings?

Last but not least, the dreaded apples.  Not dreaded, exactly, maybe that’s too harsh, but I’m sad that summer is already over, and I feel like I just stopped getting apples.  What of late-summer plums?  Grapes?  Melons?  Fortunately, I have many ideas about what to do with these crisp, sweet-tart beauties.  Apple-blackberry cobbler?  Clafoutis?  Trifle?  A big batch of apple paste to serve with cheese?  No, I’ll wait for mealy midwinter apples to do that.

Originally published on Seasonal Market Menus.

4 Comments
  1. September 9, 2010 2:14 am

    I think you can still pretend it’s summer for a while yet 🙂 Just ignore the apples, or call them plums and I’m sure everything will feel okay again. After all, as I’m talking about with my students this week, language constructs our social reality! 😉

  2. September 9, 2010 6:23 am

    Second time that I’ve heard the word Clafoutis this week! That’s starting to seem like a sign to me. Your CSA does seem like a cross-seasonal mix, ugh, er bliss.

  3. September 9, 2010 7:29 pm

    Hannah – Yes, plums. Crunchy plums. 🙂

    Tammy – It’s definitely a sign. While it’s normally made with cherries or apricots, it’s great with all sorts of stone fruits, berries, and even apples!

Trackbacks

  1. This Week’s Harvest, 9/22 « Seasonal Market Menus

Comments are closed.

