Skip to content

This Week’s Harvest, 10/13

October 13, 2010

carrots, zucchini, lettuce, radishes, eggs, potatoes, grapes

Today I want soup.  I’m thinking zucchini and carrots, with onion and garlic from the pantry, the last of last week’s tomatoes, some herbs, Parmesan rind, and pasta, and we’ve got minestrone!  Or, I could leave out the pasta, and stir in wilted frisée (also from last week) and beaten egg for stracciatelle, the Italian answer to egg drop soup.

Since I got six zucchinis, I’ll probably have enough left over to make this intriguing Egyptian-inspired zucchini pilaf.

The lettuce and the radishes are a little disappointing, since it isn’t really salad weather anymore.  The potatoes, on the other hand, can take part in any number of warming, comforting dishes.

I’m wondering if this fabulous apple jelly recipe can be adapted to make grape jelly.  I can just picture the beautiful, wine-colored jars now.

Originally published on Seasonal Market Menus.

5 Comments
  1. October 14, 2010 1:48 am

    I can’t see past the grapes and radishes. Glorious! I have a grape and poppyseed muffin recipe I’ve been wanting to try, but all the grapes I’ve seen lately have been sad-looking. 😦

  2. October 14, 2010 2:31 pm

    Did you try the grape jelly?? Because I have a double panier this week and those grapes are kind of bitter for straight eating. I’ve never made jelly though so I’m scared to try. Actually that’s not true, I tried to make rose hip jelly once with my sister and it was a HUGE pain in the ass (because you have to seed the rose hips and the seeds are tiny and hairy and sometimes there are bugs inside), but the tiny bit of jelly we got was good…

  3. October 14, 2010 3:34 pm

    Hannah – It was a very colorful pull for October. And I guess sad-looking grapes are the price you pay for heading into warmer months as opposed to colder ones. 🙂

    Hopie – Not yet, but I really do want to. David sent me here for the sugar/water ratios, and the guidelines in his apple jelly recipe look do-able. What I like is that you cook the fruit whole, or just slightly crushed, then drain it – no seeding required! (He also recommends Marché St. Pierre for gauze/cheesecloth. Looks like that’s right in your neighborhood!)

  4. October 17, 2010 12:12 pm

    I save Parmesan rind for soup and tomato sauce, too! It’s one of my very few cooking secrets. Every week I eye those farm eggs with jealousy. They look amazing. I bet they’d be delicious poached in soup.

  5. October 18, 2010 8:32 pm

    Ann – I love eggs poached in soup, but it’s not something I do nearly enough. Thanks for the reminder.

Comments are closed.

