Skip to content

This Weeks Harvest, 11/10 (a day late)

November 11, 2010

lettuce, leeks, parsnips, black radishes, potatoes, eggs, apples

Oh, boy.  I do love parsnips.  In fact, I am roasting them right now, along with a few of last week’s carrots.  I’ll wait until they are nice and crispy brown on the outside, and then I’ll eat them with some leftover roast chicken and celery rémoulade.

This week’s apples are looking a little bruised and sad, which makes them perfect fodder for the apple butter I’ve been wanting to make.

Those potatoes are so big and Russet-like, I think I’ll bake them and serve them with crème fraîche, chives, crisped lardons, and the last of the Tillamook cheddar.

A friend emailed me this week about leeks vinaigrette, and now I’ve got them on the brain.  Good thing, because leeks are ever abundant in the cold months.  I may also use them in the chicken stock I’m planning on making.  And if I have any left, I’d like to cook them in butter until they’re melting, then put them in the bottom of ramekins, crack an egg into each, and bake until the whites are set and the yolks are tender.

It is nice to have a green salad alongside the hearty dishes of winter.  To that end, the lettuces we’ve been getting lately have been eaten without much trouble.  I expect this one will be no different.

Oh, black radishes.  What do I do with you?  Suggestions are welcome and encouraged.

Originally published on Seasonal Market Menus.

7 Comments
  1. November 12, 2010 1:55 am

    Ah, parsnips! When I was little, I always preferred the sweet potatoes to parsnips in my mum’s roast vegies, but now I really love their earthy sweetness. Someone always needed to be at the shops to remind dad, though, that with parsnips bigger isn’t necessarily better! We used to end up with woody specimens far too often…

  2. November 13, 2010 4:01 am

    I’ve never seen black radishes before. They look intriguing. I’d love to hear what you did do with them. I guess you can use them the same way as normal red radishes, but I’m sure it would be nice to do something special with them to highlight their colour.

  3. November 13, 2010 12:44 pm

    Hannah – Ah, yes, an important thing to remember with parsnips.

    Louise – They’re actually white on the inside, and since they’re so big, are more like a root vegetable than a crispy little bite-size radish.

  4. November 13, 2010 2:48 pm

    Thanks Camille. I just did a bit of googling black radishes. They look interesting. I’ll have to try and find them one year. I saw Clotilde at Chocolate and Zucchini had a recipe for roasting them and using them more as a vegetable too as you say. People seemed to peel them using them that way, which is a shame really.

  5. November 13, 2010 3:42 pm

    You have to love synchronicity. I sure do. Touring around some book blogs this evening, I just came across a book review of Black Radishes! Too funny.
    http://fourthmusketeer.blogspot.com/2010/10/book-review-black-radishes-by-susan.html

  6. November 14, 2010 11:25 am

    Are you of the school that think radishes should be eaten cold? I think they’d make a delicious Asian salad with sesame oil, cilantro, scallions and a little salt.

  7. November 14, 2010 9:50 pm

    Louise – It is a shame to lose that unique color, but the skin is pretty tough. Heh. I like internet synchronicities, too! Will have to check out that book!

    Ann – Not necessarily, I ate one of the radishes cooked in a stir-fry today for lunch. But I love the Asian salad idea, and I do have a couple radishes left, so thanks!

Comments are closed.

