Skip to content

This Week’s Harvest, 11/17

November 17, 2010

celery, lettuce, Granny Smith apples, courge pomme d'or, eggs, shallots, carrots

I had an awful day today.  Awful.  But soon it will be all better, because with the leftover chicken from last night, and these carrots and celery, I am going to make chicken and dumplings, and all will be right with the world.  (Just some sautéed vegetables, chicken meat, and vélouté sauce, cooked together, with Parisian gnocchi added at the end.)

I got these little golden apple squashes once last year, and discovered that their skin is quite possibly the Hardest Substance Known to Man.  (Hopie had some choice words about them, too.)  But since I now pick up my bag at a restaurant, I thought I’d ask the cook there what she does with them.  She said it was futile to try to cut or peel them before cooking, which I learned the hard way, but then she suggested stuffing them.  I think this might be a great opportunity to try a cute mini-version of Dorie Greenspan’s famous stuffed pumpkin recipe.  Or they might be fun with eggs baked inside for brunch.

The shallots are very welcome this week, as I just used up my last shallot making vinaigrette for salad last night.

After listening to Katia and Kyliemac wax rhapsodic about the trou Normand (apple sorbet with calvados) they shared with David Lebovitz and Olivier Magny, I want nothing more than to make my own version using these Granny Smith apples.  I’m certain that Mr. Lebovitz can provide me with a reliable recipe.

Originally published on Seasonal Market Menus.

4 Comments
  1. November 18, 2010 4:56 am

    So sorry you had an awful day 😦 From facebook mentions, I’m guessing this has something to do with work. *hugs* Thinking of you… and your apple sorbet! 🙂

  2. November 21, 2010 11:46 am

    I hope the chicken and dumplings worked!

    Dorie’s stuffed pumpkin recipe is my new favorite recipe!

  3. November 21, 2010 12:42 pm

    Hannah – Thanks! I’m sure it will help take the edge off.

    Ann – They were great, but I ended up doing a more traditional dumpling (the pâte à choux was starting to sound like an extra pot I didn’t want to clean). And the stuffed pumpkin is my new favorite recipe, too!

Trackbacks

  1. Happiness is a Stuffed Squash « Croque-Camille

Comments are closed.

