Skip to content

This Week’s Harvest, 12/8

December 8, 2010

For reference, here’s a picture of my kitchen window, taken this afternoon:

Brrrr

Note the accumulated snow on the steep slope of the roof, as well as in my planter boxes.  This doesn’t even begin to capture how much snow fell on Paris today.  My point is, it’s cold.  So what did the panier have in store for me on such a cold, wintry day?

leeks, eggs, mâche, parsley root, potatoes, échalions, pears

Let the mâche-fest begin!  I love this stuff the first few weeks we get it, because it’s nice to have a splash of green in the otherwise beige-and-brown palette, as well as something fresh on the plate.  But one can only clean so much mâche before getting a little fed up.

Those white roots are not parsnips, but I am still very excited about them.  They’re parsley root!  I’ve gotten them once before, and I love the way they taste just like parsley, only sweeter and starchier.  I am pretty sure I whizzed them into a soup last time, but I’m ready to put them center stage, especially after reading about a parsley root purée just this week on Alinea at Home.  Nick wants to braise something this weekend, and I have nominated duck.  Perhaps the parsley root can go with that.  I’d love to work the pears in there, too, now that I’m thinking about it.

Échalion, the monster version of the shallot, is a very versatile member of the onion family.  It can act like a shallot in a vinaigrette or pan sauce, but it can also stand in for a red onion!  Yay!

What else?  Potatoes are always welcome at this time of year.  Along with the leeks, I can definitely see a tartiflette happening this week, and maybe a potage Parmentier, too.

We just made some celery salt with the enormous celeriac from a couple weeks ago, and it has been suggested that we dip boiled eggs into it.  I’m just curious enough to try…

Originally published on Seasonal Market Menus.

6 Comments
  1. erin permalink
    December 8, 2010 9:42 pm

    Crazy how five or six thousand miles away and our paniers are so similar this week! I just wish I could get a half dozen super fresh eggs here.

  2. December 9, 2010 12:41 am

    You may not be enjoying the cold weather all that much, but I’m loving all these snowy pictures of Paris that I’m seeing on the Paris blogs. I’ve only visited Paris in the spring and summer, so find it quite fascinating. Your panier is also fascinating. Strange how interesting someone else’s shopping can be! I’ve not heard of or seen parsley roots before. I presumed they were parsnips looking at the photo. The leeks look wonderful. I don’t think I’ve ever eaten mache. Maybe I have at a restaurant but have never cooked with it at home. I’ll have to keep an eye out for it here in Australia.

  3. December 9, 2010 7:43 am

    Parsley root? Oh my heavens! I thought I was fairly knowledgeable about the world of vegetemables, but I’ve never heard of those! Remarkable 🙂

    (I can’t believe how excited I am about something called “parsley root”.)

  4. December 9, 2010 11:47 am

    I learned the hard way how dirty mâche is. Is it grown in a sand box?

    As always, I am envious of the fresh eggs!

  5. December 11, 2010 1:28 pm

    Erin – That is amazing! I guess the climates aren’t all that different, though…

    Louise – They were particularly beautiful leeks this week.

    Hannah – I felt the exact same way the first time I saw them!

    Ann – It must be. A muddy sandbox.

Trackbacks

  1. This Week’s Harvest, 12/15 « Seasonal Market Menus

Comments are closed.

