Skip to content

This Week’s Harvest, 12/15

December 15, 2010

"crapaudine" beets, lettuce, eggs, Jerusalem artichokes, black radishes, carrots, kiwis

For this, the last panier of the year, we got a double share.  I’m kicking myself a bit, because I think I would have preferred a double dose of last week’s potatoes, leeks, and parsley root.  And pears.  Not that I don’t like kiwis, but pears are just so much more versatile – they’re marvelous with cheese and on salads, not to mention baked in cakes.  The kiwi doesn’t really lend itself to much other than straight eating, although this granita I made last year was pretty fabulous.

I am, however, excited about the “crapaudine” beets this week.  They are long instead of round, and are apparently named after a toad because of their ugly skin.  I expect they’ll be delicious, though.  I want to make this Japanese-inspired noodle dish tonight, and maybe this cheesy baked number over the weekend.  I might substitute pears and blue cheese, just for fun.

These are probably the biggest Jerusalem artichokes I’ve ever seen.  I’d love to make some soup, and I’ll probably have enough left over for a lasagna of sorts, too.

I expect the carrots to play a major role in the beef cheek stew I have planned for later in the week.  I can also use them to eat up the bacon-onion dip I have left over from hosting football on Sunday with less guilt than chips would involve.

I am thankful to Clotilde for posting this black radish and potato salad this week, not only for the main idea, but also for the suggestion that black radish is not all that dissimilar from horseradish.  I think that could be the opening to a whole new way to look at black radishes.

Green salad weather, it is not, but with four two-person-sized lettuces in my fridge, I’d better get over that.  With a poached egg and some tasty cheese… Oh, hell, maybe I’ll just bake up a vacherin mont d’or (aka the world’s easiest fondue) and have a salad on the side as an excuse.

Originally published on Seasonal Market Menus.

5 Comments
  1. December 16, 2010 5:08 am

    That is a pretty brown delivery. That said, I LOVE those jerusalem artichokes and never had tried them before I was in a CSA. I haven’t made soup with them but love them roasted.

  2. December 16, 2010 2:56 pm

    Funny, I had the biggest beetroot craving earlier today! Could’ve been the result of two days of conference food which, while surprisingly good, was severely lacking in vegetables. Will definitely be checking out the radish potato recipe when I next get radishes, too!

    P.S. Haven’t yet checked out the facebook post yet, but will tomorrow when I’m at my parents’ place, using their unlimited internet 😉

  3. December 18, 2010 1:05 pm

    Tammy – I haven’t tried them roasted, I don’t think. Funny. Now I will.

    Hannah – I understand about the lack of vegetables. We ate very well in Portugal (post coming soon, I promise, I’m working on the photos today) but I barely saw a vegetable all weekend.

  4. December 19, 2010 2:00 pm

    I can’t believe how different your winter baskets are to what would be available here. It’s rather fascinating. I’ve not heard of or seen crapaudine beetroot before. I fully understand your point about pears being more versatile than kiwifruit. They really aren’t my favourite fruit. They’re not bad on top of a pavlova or a fruit tart though.

  5. December 22, 2010 8:15 pm

    Louise – I’d never heard of crapaudine beets before, either! It’s one of the things I love best about getting a farm share, though – discovering new fruits and vegetables!

Comments are closed.

