Skip to content

This Week’s Harvest, 1/5

January 5, 2011

Apples, yam, celeriac, potatoes, eggs, carrots

I have some questions for the people who put together my weekly vegetable assortment.  Where is my cabbage?  When will I get some endives?  What of Brussels sprouts?  What?  I really feel like I need some leaves in my life.  (I mean, besides the baby bok choy and banana leaves in my fridge – if not getting a CSA share for two weeks isn’t an excuse to go crazy in the Asian market, I don’t know what is.)

That said, I am actually excited about the carrots for once.  I have two Fergus Henderson recipes I’d like to make that involve using many carrots at once.  One is an old favorite, known in our house as hot ham water.  The other is Duck Legs and Carrots, which sounds perfectly simple and oh-so-good.

Brainstorming uses for this week’s bounty, and ruminating on the fact that we haven’t taken nearly enough advantage of the fishmonger just across the street, Nick suggested we try putting the igname (that weird hairy looking thing, which is a real live yam) into a clam or oyster chowder.  Sounds like it could be pretty great.

Celeriac is now highly anticipated around here, thanks to the discovery (again, thanks to Fergus Henderson) that it can be used to make homemade celery salt which has incredibly fresh flavor and really takes your Bloody Mary to the next level.

Potatoes + duck fat + eggs + onion and chili pepper = weekend breakfast par excellence.

Nick gave me some awesome soufflé dishes for Christmas, and I’m pretty sure I promised an apple soufflé or charlotte.  Time to make good on my promises.

Happy New Year, everyone!  Here’s to a delicious 2011!

Originally published on Seasonal Market Menus.

3 Comments
  1. January 6, 2011 1:00 am

    Happy New Year to you too. It’s wonderful to be able peek into your French groceries again. Oh I must say I’m Very Taken with the notion of homemade celery salt. I googled it, and it does sound amazingly easy, and yet wonderful. I make Delia Smith’s absolutely fabulous cream of celery soup each winter, and I think this would be extraordinary on it. Pity it’s summer in Australia just now…..I must remember to make this in the winter. That big hairy thing does look rather extraordinary too.

  2. January 6, 2011 2:47 pm

    So is celeriac the same as a celery root?

  3. January 7, 2011 8:49 pm

    Louise – The flavor of homemade celery salt is just incomparable. You should definitely try it this winter!

    Tammy – One and the same.

Comments are closed.

