Skip to content

This Week’s Harvest, 1/26

January 26, 2011

leeks, topinambours/Jerusalem artichokes, apples, eggs, cabbage, mâche

This might sound weird, but I am kind of enamored with the cabbage I got today.  It is so perfectly round, fresh, and compact that I almost don’t want to ruin it by chopping it up and cooking it.  Although I know that it will be so delicious when I do.  I believe I promised Nick I’d make fish tacos with cabbage (don’t knock it ’til you’ve tried it), but the temperatures in Paris have dropped again, and the heavy, rainy skies make me want to cook up a big pot of choucroute garnie.

I am craving custards this week.  Crème caramel, chocolate pudding, vanilla ice cream, something delicious is going to become of those eggs!

The apple situation in my fruit basket is reaching critical mass.  I want to make this crumbly apple cake, and then a big batch of apple-cinnamon granola.  Hopefully that will help.  Know what else is good with apples?  Boudin noir.  And I think I’ll sauté a few apple slices in the duck fat left after I cook a duck breast for dinner tonight.  A mâche salad will make a lovely accompaniment.

I’m curious to try roasting the topinambours. (I have come to the realization that this will always be their first name for me, and only when pressed will I produce their English name, Jerusalem artichokes.  One day, years from now, I will be in an American farmer’s market or grocery store, and I will see them and exclaim, “Topinambours!” much to the puzzlement of the other shoppers, I’m sure.)  Or maybe playing off the artichoke-ness of their nature, and tossing them with pasta, or putting them on a pizza.  Decisions, decisions.

The leeks, I am tempted to caramelize with a handful of other onion family members for a nice, hearty bowl of French onion soup.

Originally published on Seasonal Market Menus.

6 Comments
  1. erin permalink
    January 27, 2011 12:17 am

    I love the French vocab I pick up on this site! So far beyond Mme. Ross’ class. Just had a couple versions of roasted Jerusalem artichokes in London and they were wonderful. Highly recommended preparation.

  2. January 27, 2011 2:58 am

    Topinambours is the far, far superior name! Thank you for teaching me that 🙂 And for the link to the apple cinnamon granola! I haven’t made granola in weeks. Shame on me!

    P.S. I do love cabbage. Unfortunately I’ve realised that while it’s still cheap here, it’s also not in season, and that’s why my last few cabbages have had almost no flavour. Whoops.

  3. January 28, 2011 8:16 am

    Everything in your basket always looks so perfect, but that cabbage is a particularly pretty shape. I don’t eat all that much cabbage (well not since I was a student), but have been trying to include a bit more recently. I’ve never heard the name topinambour before, I’ve used jerusalem artichokes in soup a few times, but that’s about all.

    We had an amazing meal at a restaurant in New Zealand last week, and they had a tentation apple desert. They said tentation was a French breed of apple- have you come across those there? Those granola (muesli) recipes with apple sauce look amazing- will have to try that when the weather cools somewhat. I’d generally pass on the boudin noir- just can’t do it.

    What is the green leafy stuff in the bag? Looks too big for water cress. Mache? What do you do with that?

  4. January 30, 2011 5:14 pm

    erin – Sometimes I wonder if she was just wasting out time with those “verbs” and “articles.” 🙂

    Hannah – You are very welcome, on all counts. 🙂

    Louise – Yes, it’s mâche. I have made soup out of it before, but mostly we just eat it as salads.

    • erin permalink
      January 31, 2011 7:59 pm

      total nerd alert, but i am grateful for those verb quizzes. every french class i went through after high school, i trounced the competition!

      • January 31, 2011 9:08 pm

        I know what you mean. They were tedious, but I KNEW those verb tenses.

Comments are closed.

