Skip to content

This Week’s Harvest, 2/2

February 2, 2011

apples, eggs, black salsify, purslane, shallots, potatoes, carrots

Well.  I’m irritated that I was promised mushrooms this week which were not delivered.  As a replacement, though, I got pourpier, a green with which I have no experience.  As far as I can tell, in English it’s purslane, although what I have looks a lot more delicate than the pictures I’ve been able to find of the stuff.  It turns out that I do have a recipe for it in my Google Reader, a tasty sounding one for apple, quinoa, and purslane salad.  And since the apples are neverending these days, it seems like a good way to use some of them up.

Those funky-looking black roots are scorsonère, or black salsify, which I got once last year.  I ended up tempura-ing it, which was splendid.  This time I’m cooking it in a Thai green curry, loosely based on this recipe.  Mine is still vegan, but instead of the summery vegetables they used, I’m using salsify, carrots, leeks, and shallots.

I have two extremely classic French dishes in mind for the potatoes and the eggs.  It’s the right time of year for gratin dauphinois, layers of potatoes baked with garlic and cream, as well as for crêpes – eggy, sweet crêpes.

Originally published on Seasonal Market Menus.

4 Comments
  1. February 3, 2011 3:42 am

    The world’s gone mad for purslane! (Not really. I’ve just heard about it several times this past week after never coming across it before.) Ah, if only it weren’t 95-105 degrees here in Canberra, that potato dish would sound far more appealing!

  2. February 3, 2011 8:05 pm

    Hannah – Then just for you, I’ll make an ice cream crêpe. And now you have inadvertently reminded me of the giant ice cream-filled crêpe burrito I had in a restaurant in Lille. And now I want to go back there.

  3. February 6, 2011 1:18 pm

    Camille, I’m not sure about that being purslane- not that I’ve ever really seen any! But I did think it had a thicker, more succulent stem than it appears to in the picture. The picture in the apple and quinoa salad, looks quite different to your sample there. In fact I’m sure I’ve got purslane growing in the back yard- if only I was brave enough to try some! Intriguing and perfect looking vegies as always though.

  4. February 7, 2011 8:17 pm

    Louise – It does look quite different, but the only translation I can find for pourpier is purslane. Maybe it’s different in Europe?

Comments are closed.

