Skip to content

This Week’s Harvest, 2/9

February 9, 2011

leeks, crapaudine beets, white beans, kiwis, eggs, endives, potatoes

My poor husband is sick today.  He needs soup.  By the looks of this, it’s going to involve leeks, and possibly potatoes.

I love these endives – they’re so curly and fluffy!  I think I’d like to make a salad with them, and some of those crapaudine beets, roasted.  Poached eggs will make it into a meal.

The last time I got dried white beans from the panier, I had a plan for them: cassoulet.  I don’t know when in the near future I’ll have time for a big weekend cooking project (we’re apartment hunting again), but I’d love to try my hand at garbure, a Southwestern French soup with many of the same components as cassoulet, plus whatever winter vegetables I want to throw in.  Hello, seasonal clean-out-the-fridge soup!

And, after five straight weeks of apples, we got kiwis.  I’ve been thinking about writing a little dissertation on fruit salads, and the bright green color and sweet, sort-of-tropical, flavor of kiwis make them a great fruit salad component.

Originally published on Seasonal Market Menus.

2 Comments
  1. February 10, 2011 1:07 am

    I’ve never seen endive that looks so fresh before! Hmm, CSA endives versus supermarket endives… I guess that’s a no-brainer! Hope the soup and/or salad creations are restorative 🙂

  2. February 23, 2011 8:39 pm

    Hannah – I think they did the trick. 🙂 Yes, those endives are pretty amazing, aren’t they?

Comments are closed.

