Skip to content

This Week’s Harvest, 2/23

February 23, 2011

Leeks, golden apple squash, mâche, parsnips, apples, eggs

This was a double panier week, as I decided to forgo the delivery last week in favor of a birthday dinner at one of my favorite restaurants and then a weekend in Budapest, where I did not go hungry.  (Ha ha.)  So pictured here is half of what I got.  I am super excited to see some winter squash – I thought they might be done for the season.  I’ve got a few of those golden apple squash (courge pomme d’or) roasting right now.  I see no reason not to stuff them again.  Also, considering I got leeks and apples as well, I’ll probably rehash this savory crumble.  Both will be great with a green mâche salad alongside, preferably with a nice, mustardy vinaigrette.

Those parsnips being the rather large specimens they are, I think they’ll taste best in a soup or other puréed form – the big ones can get a little woody when roasted, my preferred parsnip preparation. I wonder if they might make a good quiche with some of those eggs…

I’m always on the lookout for apple recipes, and if Andrea says that this is the best apple cake, I believe her.

Originally published on Seasonal Market Menus.

6 Comments
  1. February 23, 2011 9:15 pm

    Nice haul, Camille! The eggs are beautiful, as are the leeks!!

  2. February 24, 2011 1:53 am

    It’s always fascinating how squash and pumpkin differ around the world- I think they are the most variable, and locally distinct of vegetables in our year round produce availability world. Your golden apple squash look fantastic. Such a luminous golden hue. How I would love to try something like that. And a weekend in Budapest! I’m so jealous. I would so love to go there one day.

  3. February 24, 2011 2:21 am

    One day I will find pretty little squashes/pumpkins, and I will stuff them. Oh, how they will be stuffed.

  4. February 24, 2011 10:42 pm

    Jenni – I love having farm-fresh eggs around all the time! It’s the next best thing to having chickens, I imagine. 😉

    Louise – Squashes are truly versatile, which is probably why they’re one of my favorite vegetables!

    Hannah – I can’t wait to see them! 🙂

  5. February 27, 2011 11:53 pm

    I love this apple cake from Smitten Kitchen too. It’s really easy and it stays moist for days- if it lasts that long…
    http://smittenkitchen.com/2008/09/moms-apple-cake/

  6. March 2, 2011 10:18 pm

    Catherine – Thanks for the link! I’ll have to try that this weekend!

Comments are closed.

