Skip to content

This Week’s Harvest, 3/2

March 2, 2011

lettuce, shiitake mushrooms, apples, eggs, potatoes, carrots, onions

Shiitake!  I am over the moon to have finally received mushrooms in my panier.  I’ve been teased with them before, or seen that they are being delivered to people in different sectors of Paris, but this is the first time in over two years that I’ve gotten mushrooms.  Hip hip hooray!  I really wanted to make these Chinese mushroom dumplings, but I couldn’t wait.  You see, that would have involved a trip to the Asian market for dumpling wrappers and shaoxing wine, and I wanted mushrooms tonight.  So instead I am making a Japanese-inspired risotto, with ginger, veal stock, and kombu tea supporting the lovely mushrooms sautéed with a little garlic.  Because I had all those ingredients on hand.

Apart from the mushrooms, the rest of this is pretty basic stuff.  I was out of onions, so I was glad to see them.  You can’t cook much of anything without them.  The lettuce is notable because I think it might be a harbinger of Spring.  After so many weeks with no greens, I’ll be happy to have salad on my plate again.  I love the bright color of the apples – let’s hope their flavor matches that intensity.

This week, the eggs and potatoes have me thinking about Spanish tortilla.  I got a Spanish cookbook recently – Movida by Frank Camorra – and there’s a carrot salad with fennel in there that might just go perfect with the tortilla.  Sounds like a great weekend brunch to me.

Originally published on Seasonal Market Menus.

5 Comments
  1. March 3, 2011 12:01 am

    Yum, tortilla for weekend brunch sounds fantastic. It would figure that the mushrooms made their appearance on the Wednesday that I skipped town… Fingers crossed that they will stick around for a while (at least until next week). Enjoy!

  2. March 3, 2011 3:22 am

    I always forget about how much I love mushrooms! You’ve inspired me to add some to my grocery list this weekend 🙂

  3. March 3, 2011 9:01 pm

    Melissa – Yeah, but you get to drink American craft beer this weekend. I’d say it’s a fair trade-off. 🙂

    Hannah – Hooray! Mushrooms are the greatest!

  4. March 5, 2011 2:47 pm

    Look like a nice omelette dinner!

  5. March 8, 2011 9:24 pm

    Oooh, a mushroom omelette sounds like heaven right about now.

Comments are closed.

