Skip to content

This Week’s Harvest, 3/30

March 30, 2011

lettuce, leeks, cauliflower, apples, eggs, potatoes, radishes

Today’s Hint of Spring: radishes!  These guys are too perfectly bite-size to even consider doing anything with them but eating out of hand.

Spring showers, like the one we had in Paris this afternoon, can still be cold, so I’m in the mood for hearty, warming foods tonight.  Like this pork roast with mustard and apples.  Only when I arrived at my butcher, soaking wet because umbrellas are useless in the wind, the cheese and bacon-stuffed “Savoyard” roast looked so good that I had to buy it.  You can hardly blame me.  When it’s about halfway done (after half an hour or so), I’ll throw some leeks and apples in with it to roast and soak up some of the juices.  Maybe I’ll toss them in mustard first.  A leafy green salad and bread from my favorite bakery will complete the meal nicely.

Speaking of apples, I think it’s about time for the last crumble of the season.

As usual, I am full of ideas for the cauliflower.  But the one that is standing out to me right now is a creamy, luscious soup.  It’ll be a great way to finish off the stock I have in the freezer before we move.  Oh!  And cream soup with a poached egg in it?  Heaven.  Some croutons for crunch, and you’ve got yourself a meal.

Since I never got around to baking last week’s potatoes, I may just find myself making twice-baked ones this week to make up for it!

Originally published on Seasonal Market Menus.

3 Comments
  1. March 31, 2011 6:41 pm

    Those radishes really are lovely. I didn’t see the soup recipe when I clicked the link.

  2. April 2, 2011 8:01 pm

    There isn’t one, it’s a restaurant review that made me think of it. WhenI make the soup, I’ll follow the procedure here.

Trackbacks

  1. This Week’s Harvest, 4/27; Cream of Cauliflower Soup « Seasonal Market Menus

Comments are closed.

