Skip to content

This Week’s Harvest, 4/27; Cream of Cauliflower Soup

April 27, 2011

spinach, rhubarb, lettuce, cauliflower, eggs, potatoes

Holy lettuce, Batman!  See that enormous lettuce there in the back?  I got two of those today.  Guess it’s the universe reminding me that swimsuit season is coming up.  Tonight we will be dining on salad, with a side of pork chops.

Nick had requested creamed spinach tonight, but now I’m thinking I might want to make a batch of spinach dip instead.

The rhubarb is an exciting development.  I’m dreaming of its tartness and the way the tang marries perfectly with creamy sweet things like ice cream, panna cotta, or pastry cream.  It would be heavenly poached and served atop a fresh fruit tart.  Which would take care of some of the eggs, too.

Potatoes and cauliflower make me think of aloo gobi.  Were it colder out, I might be thinking of chowder.  I’ve had this photo of a cream of cauliflower soup I made a few weeks ago waiting in the wings, hoping I would have a chance to post it while the vegetables took their spring vacation.  But then moving apartments took more time and energy than I expected (doesn’t it always?) and the weather turned fabulous and creamy soup seemed like a ridiculous thing to be posting about.  Today, though, while the sky is still blue, the temperature has dropped a few degrees, and cauliflower soup once again sounds appetizing.

Cream of cauliflower soup

Originally published on Seasonal Market Menus.

6 Comments
  1. April 28, 2011 1:14 am

    Camille, I just bought a cauliflower for the first time in months, as they’ve been yellow, wobbly, and $5.98 a head for ages. Now that we’re getting cooler weather here again, I foresee more cauliflower… and cauliflower soup 🙂 Yours looks quite endearing!

  2. April 28, 2011 1:26 pm

    Like Hannah, I’ve been watching and waiting for our cauliflowers to become nicer and cheaper. I like cauliflower soup too, but have been doing a baked cauliflower and quinoa dish that is fabulous, and can’t wait to have that again soon.

  3. May 1, 2011 2:51 pm

    Hannah – Hooray for cauliflower season overlap!

    Louise – Sounds intriguing. I love quinoa.

  4. May 1, 2011 11:17 pm

    I am so envious. I am tired enough of imported greens that I have considered scouring our backyard for dandelions. Six weeks until CSAs begin here. And thanks for the reminder about swimsuit season (I think)!

  5. May 2, 2011 4:36 pm

    Inger – Ha! Did you manage to gather up enough for a salad?

    • May 3, 2011 2:47 am

      Haven’t gone foraging just yet, but I did desperately pluck leaves from my lettuce seedlings to serve salads to my kids one day!

Comments are closed.

