Skip to content

This Week’s Harvest, 5/18

May 18, 2011

lettuce, asparagus, radishes, cabbage, carrots, eggs, Swiss chard

I wish I could think of something other than salads to make with lettuce.  Although the big salads we had for dinner the other night weren’t half bad, topped with bacon, onions, tomatoes, blue cheese, and poached eggs.  And speaking of poached eggs, I may just make this delightful asparagus salad again this week.

Cabbage and carrots?  Looks like we’re having coleslaw this week!

I’ve been waiting to make this scrumptious Swiss chard pasta dish since last fall.

And the radishes?  Well, since I just got back from St. Malo with over a pound of Bordier butter in tow, I’ll definitely be going the classic French route with these guys – radishes, butter, salt, bread.  Why mess with perfect simplicity?

Originally published on Seasonal Market Menus.

3 Comments
  1. May 18, 2011 7:45 pm

    I know! I have salad, spinach AND swiss chard. I’m going to have green leaves coming out of my ears by the end of the week (esp. since D. won’t eat either spinach or swiss chard so I’m on my own there)!

  2. May 19, 2011 2:42 am

    Ooh, and white asparagus. It’s always so much more exciting than green asparagus (which I love and can’t get enough of in season). I’m not quite sure I’d now what to do with that much cabbage. I’ve never had radishes with butter, but I’m sure I’d like it. I certainly know that I’d like to try it.

  3. May 19, 2011 9:02 pm

    Hopie – But just think of how GOOD all those greens are for you!

    Louise – Funnily enough, I think the novelty of the white asparagus wears off pretty quickly. I much prefer the green kind, but the preference here in France seems to be for the milder-flavored white.

Comments are closed.

