Skip to content

This Week’s Harvest, 6/29 (Oh, Yeah, and There Were Eggs, Too)

June 30, 2011

carrots, lettuce, broccoli, zucchini, apricots, potatoes, shallots

Odd mix this week, but I’m not complaining.  I adore broccoli and am happy to get it any time of year.  I think I’ll roast it and use it in a hearty grain-based salad (spelt, perhaps?  or maybe lentils?) with this amazing tahini-lemon-yogurt dressing.  Come to think of it, the zucchini would probably benefit greatly from the same treatment.

I am also super excited about the apricots, which we haven’t gotten in the panier since before I started this blog.  I think this upside-down cake sounds like a perfect vehicle for the gorgeous, sweet-tart fruits.  Carrot cake is sounding good, too, I must be on some kind of cake kick.  Eggs, I know what to do with you.

The fresh shallots with their green tops intact are not something I’ve seen before, but I’m glad to have them, as I know they will make fantastic vinaigrettes for dressing that lettuce.

When I told Nick we were getting potatoes this week, he interrupted me with an exclamation of “What season is this again?”  Yeah, I know.  Anybody know any good, summery potato recipes?  Oh, wait.  Potato salad.  Duh.

Originally published on Seasonal Market Menus.

3 Comments
  1. June 30, 2011 11:35 pm

    Your weekly produce always looks so fantastic and fresh. I imagine it has the taste to go with it.

  2. July 5, 2011 10:52 am

    Louise – It does! One of many benefits of a CSA. 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Tomato Update: Gazpacho Andaluz « Seasonal Market Menus

Comments are closed.

