Skip to content

This Week’s Harvest, 9/28: Indian Summer

September 30, 2011

lettuce, radishes, carrots, green beans, zucchini, pears, eggs

We are enjoying a downright splendid weather pattern here in Paris these days.  It’s 80 degrees, clear, and sunny.  Warm enough to go out at night without a jacket or sweater.  I’m in heaven, busting out all the summer clothes I never got a chance to wear this summer.  As a result, spending a lot of time on elaborate cooking projects is not going to happen this weekend.  But I’m lucky to have gotten a selection of late-summer bounty that can do with minimal cooking.

The radishes are already gone, eaten as a prelude to a dinner with a friend I haven’t seen in ten years.  The zucchini played a role in said dinner as well, thinly sliced, tossed with the same herbs found in this recipe, and baked atop a round of puff pastry for a very simple but very delicious tart.  And of course we had a green salad, too, to accompany the roast chicken.  With our cheese course (rocamadour and bleu d’Auvergne, in case you were wondering) we had some gorgeous dark purple figs which did not come in the panier, but are in season.  I highly recommend you pick some up before they fly south for the winter.

The carrots I plan on roasting alongside a neatly tied pork loin.  The green beans are likely to end up in some kind of stir-fry.  The pears are a perfect snack or dessert all on their juicy own.  And the eggs?  I’ve been asked to provide brownies or cornbread for this Sunday’s football gathering, so I suspect that’s where most of them will end up.

And now I have an announcement: for my lovely readers in the southern hemisphere, I’m instituting a new feature here on Seasonal Market Menus.  At the end of every post, I’ll put up a link to the Seasonal Opposite, that is, a post from the archives as close to six months ago as I can find.  Enjoy!

Seasonal Opposite: March 30, 2011 (actually shockingly similar this time!)

Originally published on Seasonal Market Menus.

4 Comments
  1. October 1, 2011 5:09 am

    Oh figs and cheese! That makes my heart soar! 🙂 And the hemisphere thingy is lovely, thank you Camille 🙂

  2. October 1, 2011 12:15 pm

    Hannah – You are most welcome!

  3. October 1, 2011 2:14 pm

    I love your treat for those of us stuck in the antipodes instead of in Paris! What an inspired idea.

  4. October 2, 2011 11:07 am

    Louise – Glad to help! 🙂

Comments are closed.

