Skip to content

This Week’s Harvest, 10/5: Potimarron!

October 6, 2011

lettuce, radishes, spinach, cauliflower, eggs, shallots, potimarron, apples

And now, all of a sudden, it’s fall.  Hello, potimarron!  Also known as kuri or Hokkaido squash, this little member or the pumpkin family is probably my favorite winter squash (although put me in front of a butternut or one of these beauties and the situation might get awkward).  What I should really do with it is re-test my pumpkin pie recipe for my upcoming new job (!!!), but I’ve got soup on the brain.  Potimarron and shrimp bisque, perhaps?  Or maybe potimarron and black bean chili?  Or this fantastic curried soup (thanks for the link, Melissa!), which has the added bonus of calling for spinach, too?  Ah, but I’d already planned at least one Indian meal already – a big, warming pot of vegetable dal featuring cauliflower.

Once again, the radishes are already gone, nibbled over pre-dinner drinks with a friend.  The apples, again the perfect size for snacking.  The lettuce, which looks a little sad, frankly, should be happy to dress up in a vinaigrette made with those shallots.  The eggs have their work cut out for them, should I end up going the pumpkin pie route.

Originally published on Seasonal Market Menus.

3 Comments
  1. October 6, 2011 11:43 pm

    Ah I love pumpkin so much and would love to visit France one time when the potimarron are in season- I’m so curious.

  2. October 9, 2011 2:42 pm

    I picked one of these up at the market last week and am going to make a curry with it. Wish I could get a panier bio here!

  3. October 13, 2011 8:46 pm

    Louise – I’m surprised they don’t have any in Australia…

    Loulou – Potimarron curry sounds fantastic!

Comments are closed.

